1979 Marilyn Scott – Dreams Of Tomorrow

Dreams Of Tomorrow is the first solo album by Marilyn Scott, released in 1979 on ATCO Records.

Marilyn Scott (born December 21, 1949 in Altadena, California) is an American jazz vocalist.

Scott got her start performing locally at age 15. She went to college in San Francisco, singing in both jazz and pop ensembles there. She was noticed by Emilio Castillo, a member of Tower of Power, who hired her to do backing vocals for the group. This led to further work as a session musician in Los Angeles, working with Spyro Gyra, The Yellowjackets, Hiroshima, Etta James, and Bobby Womack. She also appeared in a production of Selma, about the life of Martin Luther King, Jr.


1  Let’s Be Friends (Russell Ferrante) 3:42
2  Dreams Of Tomorrow (Dexter Wansel) 4:41
3  Highways Of My Life (Chris Jasper, Marvin Isley, Okelly Isley, Ronald Isley, Rudolph Isley) 4:01
4  Why-Oh-You (Y.O.U) (Jay Gruska, Jeffery Spirit) 3:36
5  Let’s Not Talk About Love (Marilyn Scott, Ray McCarty) 3:16
6  You Are All I Need (Dexter Wansel) 5:55
7  You Made Me Believe (Geoffrey Leib) 3:43
8  The Beach (Dan Ferguson, Marilyn Scott, Pepper Watkins) 4:03
9  Yes I Can (I Can Get Along Without Them) (Billy Preston, Shedrack Anderson) 5:02



BassChip Benson
DrumsMark Sanders
PercussionMark Sanders
SaxEmilio Castillo
SaxLenny Pickett
SaxStephen Kupka
TrumpetGreg Adams
TrumpetMic Gillette
Background VocalsPepper Watkins
VocalsMarilyn Scott

Other Musicians

1 Let’s Be Friends

Strings (Synthesizer)Russell Ferrante

2 Dreams Of Tomorrow

Strings (Synthesizer)Steve Porcaro
Strings (Synthesizer)Dan Ferguson
PercussionChuck Wike

6 You Are All I Need

Strings (Synthesizer)Steve Porcaro
Strings (Synthesizer)Dan Ferguson

7 You Made Me Believe

Background VocalsTweedy Woodard

Liner Notes

Arranged By (Synthesizer Strings) – Russell Ferrante (Tracks 1, 9)
Arranged By (Synthesizer Strings) – Dan Ferguson, Steve Porcaro (Tracks 2, 6)
Coordinator (Production Assistant) – Jill Harris
Coordinator (Production) – Terri Kaye
Engineer – Chris Gordon, D.C. Snyder, Gary Lubow, Tom Knox
Engineer (Tower Of Power Horn Section Engineered By) – Alan Chinowsky
Mixed By – Kevin Beamish

Art Direction, Illustration – Lou Beach
Design – Melanie Nissen

Manufactured By – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Copyright (c) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Produced For – Spunk Productions
Recorded At – Sound City Studios
Recorded At – Malaco Studios
Recorded At – Conway Studios
Recorded At – Record Plant, Sausalito
Recorded At – Different Fur Studios
Pressed By – Presswell