1999 Juice Newton – American Girl

American Girl is the eleventh solo studio album by country pop singer Juice Newton. It was released by Renaissance Records in 1999. Following the release of her 1987 album Emotion Newton had concentrated largely on concert performing until the release of The Trouble With Angels in 1998. However, that album was made up largely of new renditions of songs she had recorded in the past. Thus American Girl marked her first recording of original material in twelve years.


1  Ask Lucinda (Johnny Pierce, Otha Young) 2:48
2  Listen To The Radio (Nanci Griffith) 3:03
3  Love Hurts (Boudleaux Bryant) 4:01
4  They Never Made It To Memphis (Jan Buckingham, Karen Staley) 2:49
5  Keepin’ Me Alive (Tom Petty) 3:21
6  I’ve Been Mistreated (W Jay Crawley) 3:03
7  Crazy Little Thing Called Love (Freddie Mercury) 2:43
8  Nightime Without You (Juice Newton) 2:35
9  The Trouble With Angels (Terry Wilson) 3:55
10  Red Blooded American Girl (Lawrence Gottlieb, Kevin Montgomery) 5:00
11  There Goes My Love (Buck Owens) 2:42
12  You Can’t Say You Don’t Love Me Anymore (John Jarvis, Bill Lamb) 3:04



BassDavid Hungate
BassDennis Belfield
BassSpady Brannon
BassJay Bodean Cawley
DrumsRick Shlosser
DrumsEddie Bayers
DrumsChris Brooks
DrumsSteve Duncan
DrumsMilton Sledge
DrumsHarry Stinson
DrumsJimmy Nichols
GuitarKerry Marx
GuitarJerry Kimbrough
GuitarJohn Jorgenson
GuitarJoe DiBlasi
GuitarSteve Cochran
GuitarJeff King
Pedal Steel GuitarJaydee Mannes
Steel GuitarDoug Livingston
Acoustic GuitarOtha Young
Acoustic GuitarBartholomew James Lowry
Acoustic GuitarJeff King
Acoustic GuitarSteve Cochran
KeyboardsAndre Mayeaux
KeyboardsJimmy Nichols
KeyboardsSkip Edwards
KeyboardsBobby Ogdin
SynthesizerJimmy Nichols
SynthesizerAndre Mayeaux
SynthesizerSkip Edwards
SynthesizerBobby Ogdin
PercussionTerry McMillan
PercussionRick Shlosser
FiddleAubrey Haynie
FiddleBob Hojacos
Background VocalsJay Bodean Cawley
Background VocalsSteve Cochran
Background VocalsOtha Young
Background VocalsJohn McKay
Background VocalsDina Bennet
Background VocalsSteve McClintock
Background VocalsJohn Wesley Ryles
Background VocalsLisa Silver
Background VocalsDiane Tidwell
Background VocalsDennis Wilson
Background VocalsCurtis Young
VocalsJuice Newton

Liner Notes

Producer – Otha Young (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)
Producer – Dan E Williams, Mike Stewart, Jim McKell(Tracks 2, 11, 12)
Producer – Richard Landis (Tracks 9, 10)
Co-producer – Stephen Cochran
Producer (Executive) – Otha Young
Production Manager (Coordinator) – Jennifer Axsom
Engineer – Andre Mayeux, John McKay, Todd Lucas, Jim McKell
Engineer – John Ugarte (Tracks 1, 3, 5, 8)
Engineer – Michael Mikulka (Tracks 4, 6, 7)
Engineer – Ricky Cobble (Tracks 9, 10)
Engineer (Additional Engineering) – Britt McQuate, Dan Bosworth, Jay Cawley, John Vestman
Mastered By– John Vestman

Graphics (Graphic Design), Layout – Lisa Sutton, Music Services Unlimited
Label Coordinator, Design Concept – John W. Edwards
Photography By – Ed Masterson

Manufactured By – Renaissance Records, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Renaissance Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Renaissance Records, Inc.
Recorded At – Trackhouse Studios, Van Nuys
Recorded At – A.M. Music Studio
Recorded At – The Headway Group
Recorded At – Gopher Baroque Studios
Recorded At – Loud Recording
Recorded At – Creative Recording, Inc.
Engineered At – The Headway Complex
Engineered At – Trackhouse Studios, Van Nuys
Engineered At – Creative Recording, Inc.
Engineered At – LAFX Studios
Engineered At – Smilin’ Fish Studios
Engineered At – A.M. Music Studio
Engineered At – The Studio, San Diego