1995 Deborah Cox – Deborah Cox

Deborah Cox is the debut album by Canadian singer Deborah Cox. It was released by Arista Records on September 12, 1995, in the United States. Executive produced by Clive Davis, Deborah Cox is a blend of R&B, soul and hip hop soul and features productions from producers such as Tim & Bob, Babyface, Daryl Simmons and Dallas Austin. A commercial and critical success, the album was certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA), for sales of over 500,000 units, and earned Cox a Juno Award for Best R&B/Soul Recording at the 1996 Juno Awards.

“Sentimental” was released as the lead single from the album, and peaked at number 27 on the US Billboard Hot 100 and number 4 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart. The second single “Who Do U Love” fared better on the singles chart, peaking at number 17 on the Hot 100, while reaching the top of Billboard’s Hot Dance Club Songs, selling 500,000 copies domestically. It also attained worldwide success, peaking at number two on the New Zealand Singles Chart and reaching the Top 20 on other international charts.


1  Sentimental (Colin Wolfe; Dallas Austin; Deborah Cox) 04:30
2  Who Do U Love (Larry L Campbell; Vassal Benford) 04:32
3  I’m Your Natural Woman (Daryl Simmons) 05:17
4  The Sound Of My Tears (Keith Crouch; Kipper Jones) 04:51
5  Call Me (Deborah Cox; Lascelles Stephen; Vassal Benford) 04:47
6  My Radio (Dallas Austin) 04:14
7  Never Gonna Break My Heart Again (Diane Warren) 04:11
8  It Could’ve Been You (Deborah Cox; Lascelles Stephen) 04:56
9  My First Night With You (BabyFace; Diane Warren) 05:28
10  Just Be Good To Me (Terry Lewis; James Harris) 05:50
11  Who Do U Love (Morales Mix) (David Morales) 04:47
12  Where Do We Go From Here (Deborah Cox; Lascelles Stephen) 04:12
13  Sentimental (Smooth Mix) (Dallas Austin) 04:32


1 Sentimental

BassColin Wolfe
All Other InstrumentsDallas Austin
VocalsDeborah Cox

2 Who Do U Love

All InstrumentsVassal Benford
All InstrumentsLarry L Campbell
VocalsDeborah Cox

3 I’m Your Natural Woman

BassRonnie Garrett
Drums (programming)Darryl Simmons
KeyboardsDarryl Simmons
PianoVance Taylor
Strings (Synthesizer)Daryl Simmons
Strings (Synthesizer)Dean Gant
Background VocalsDaryl Simmons
Background VocalsDebra Killings
Background VocalsTann Simmons
VocalsDeborah Cox

4 The Sound Of My Tears

Drums (programming)Keith Crouch
GuitarJohn Jubu Smith
KeyboardsKeith Crouch
OrganAlvin Parker
SaxDerrick Edmondson
PercussionKeith Crouch
Background VocalsSheree Ford
VocalsDeborah Cox

5 Call Me

All InstrumentsBen Garrison
All InstrumentsLascelles Stephen
All InstrumentsVassal Benford
All InstrumentsVincent Herbert
Background VocalsVal Young
Background VocalsValerie Davis
VocalsDeborah Cox

6 My Radio

DrumsDallas Austin
KeyboardsDallas Austin
VocalsDeborah Cox

7 Never Gonna Break My Heart Again

BassKeith Thomas
DrumsMark Hammond
SynthesizerKeith Thomas
Background VocalsAda Dyer
Background VocalsAudrey Wheeler
Background VocalsLisa Bernard
VocalsDeborah Cox

8 It Could’ve Been You

DrumsTim Kelley
KeyboardsBob Robinson
KeyboardsTim Kelley
VocalsDeborah Cox

9 My First Night With You

BassSam Sims
GuitarMichael Thompson
VocalsDeborah Cox

10 Just Be Good To Me

BassColin Wolfe
DrumsTim Kelley
KeyboardsBob Robinson
KeyboardsTim Kelley
VocalsDeborah Cox

11 Who Do U Love (Morales Mix)

KeyboardsEric Kupper
KeyboardsSatoshi Tomiie
KeyboardsTerry Burrus
VocalsDeborah Cox

12 Where Do We Go From Here

DrumsBen Garrison
DrumsVincent Herbert
KeyboardsDarryl Brundidge
KeyboardsKeith Andes
VocalsDeborah Cox

13 Sentimental (Smooth Mix)

Drums (programming)Francis Buckley
GuitarTim Pierce
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
VocalsDeborah Cox

Liner Notes

Producer – Dallas Austin (Tracks 1, 6, 10, 13)
Producer – Larry Campbell (Track 2)
Producer – Daryl Simmons (Track 3)
Producer – Vincent Herbert (Tracks 5, 12)
Producer – Vassal Benford (Track 5)
Producer – Keith Thomas (Tracks 7, 9)
Producer – Bob Robinson, Tim Kelley (Tracks 8, 10)
Producer – Babyface (Track 9)
Producer – David Morales (Track 11)
Producer (Executive) – Clive Davis
Co-producer – Lascelles Stephens (Track 5)
Arranged By – Dallas Austin (Tracks 1, 6, 10, 13)
Arranged By – Larry Campbell (Track 2)
Arranged By – Keith Thomas (Track 7)
Arranged By (Backgrounds) – Danny Madden (Track 11)
Arranged By (Strings) – Jeremy Lubbock (Track 9)
Arranged By (Vocals) – Babyface, Keith Andes (Track 9)
Conductor – Jeremy Lubbock (Track 9)
Coordinator – Stephanie McCravey (Tracks 2, 5)
Coordinator – Ivy Skoff (Tracks 3, 9)
Coordinator – Todd Moore (Track 7)
Coordinator – Jolie Levine (Track 13)
Directed By – Chris Fogel (Track 13)
Edited By – Blake Eiseman (Track 3)
Engineer – Hugo Dwyer (Track 11)
Engineer (Assistant) – Brian Smith, Kevin Parker (Tracks 1, 6)
Engineer (Assistant) – Brian Richards (Tracks 2, 5)
Engineer (Assistant) – Franco Starnella (Track 2)
Engineer (Assistant) – John Frye (Track 8)
Engineer (Assistant) – Alex Lowe, Fred Kelly, Kevin Lively (Track 3)
Engineer (Assistant) – Hans Gutknecht (Tracks 6, 8)
Engineer (Assistant) – Greg Parker (Track 7)
Engineer (Assistant) – Carlton Lynn (Track 10)
Engineer (Assistant) – Stephanie Gylden (Track 13)
Engineer (Assistant Mix) – Brian Richards (Track 2)
Engineer (Assistant Mix) – Matt Silva (Tracks 8, 10)
Engineer (Assistant Mix) – Ryan Arnold (Track 9)
Mastered By – Carlton Batts
Mixed By – Alvin Speights (Tracks 1, 6)
Mixed By – Victor Flores (Track 2)
Mixed By – Jon Gass (Tracks 3, 9)
Mixed By – Booker T Jones (Track 4)
Mixed By – Ben Garrison, Vincent Herbert (Tracks 5, 12)
Mixed By – Bill Whittington (Track 7)
Mixed By – Dave Way (Tracks 8, 10)
Mixed By – David Morales (Track 11)
Recorded By – Leslie Brathwaite (Tracks 1, 6, 10)
Recorded By – Victor Flores (Tracks 2, 5)
Recorded By – Ara Darakjian, Chris Trevett (Track 2)
Recorded By – Thom Kidd (Track 3)
Recorded By – Eugene Lo (Track 4)
Recorded By – Ben Garrison (Tracks 5, 12)
Recorded By – Bill Whittington (Track 7)
Recorded By – Darin Prindle, Hans Gutknecht (Track 8)
Recorded By – Brad Gilderman, Martin Horenburg (Track 9)
Recorded By – Brian Smith (Track 10)
Remix – Francis Buckley (Track 13)
Sound Designer – Rick Sheppard (Tracks 1, 6)

Art Direction – Christopher Stern
Photography – Alberto Tolot

Mastered At The Hit Factory
Mixed At DARP Studios
Mixed At Palm Tree Studios
Mixed At The Enterprise
Mixed At Studio 56
Mixed At The Hit Factory
Mixed At The Bennett House
Mixed At Larrabee Sound Studios
Mixed At Westlake Audio
Recorded At DARP Studios
Recorded At Palm Tree Studios
Recorded At Battery Studios, New York
Recorded At Doppler Studios
Recorded At Bosstown Recording Studios
Recorded At Human League Studio
Recorded At Studio 56
Recorded At Porboyz Studio
Recorded At The Hit Factory
Recorded At The Bennett House
Recorded At Studio LaCoCo
Recorded At The Tracken Place
Recorded At Record Plant, Los Angeles
Recorded At Ocean Way Recording
Recorded At Stardust Recording Studio
Recorded At Westlake Audio
Phonographic Copyright Arista Records Inc
Copyright Arista Records Inc