1989 Paul Kelly And The Messengers – So Much Water So Close To Home

So Much Water So Close to Home is an album by Australian rock band Paul Kelly And The Messengers and was originally released in August 1989. The title comes from a short story of the same name by author Raymond Carver. Carver died in August 1988. Kelly co-wrote the score for the 2006 Australian film Jindabyne,  which was also based on the same story. The entire album was recorded in the U.S. with producer Scott Litt, best known for his work with R.E.M. It was released on Mushroom/White Records in Australia & New Zealand and A&M Records for the rest of the world. The album peaked at #10 on the ARIA album charts, but none of its singles, “Sweet Guy”, “Careless” and “Most Wanted Man in the World” had any Top 40 chart success. All tracks for the album were written by Kelly, who provided vocals, guitar and harmonica and also co-produced with Litt.


1  You Can’t Take It With You (Paul Kelly) 02:42
2  Sweet Guy (Paul Kelly) 03:35
3  Most Wanted Man In The World (Paul Kelly) 03:36
4  I Had Forgotten You (Paul Kelly) 02:59
5  She’s A Melody (Paul Kelly) 04:30
6  South Of Germany (Paul Kelly) 03:16
7  Careless (Paul Kelly) 02:56
8  Moon In The Bed (Paul Kelly) 03:00
9  No You (Paul Kelly) 04:16
10  Everything’s Turning To White (Paul Kelly) 04:11
11  Pigeon/Jundamurra (Paul Kelly) 02:03
12  Cities Of Texas (Paul Kelly) 03:41


BassJon Schofield
DrumsMichael Barclay
GuitarSteve Connolly
GuitarPaul Kelly
HarmonicaPaul Kelly
Background VocalsJon Schofield
Background VocalsMichael Barclay
Background VocalsSteve Connolly
VocalsPaul Kelly

Other Musicians

2 Sweet Guy

SaxSteve Berlin

5 She’s A Melody

CongasLenny Castro
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa

6 South Of Germany

Pedal Steel GuitarLucky Oceans

7 Careless

PercussionPaulinho Da Costa

8 Moon In The Bed

PercussionPaulinho Da Costa

12 Cities Of Texas

HarmonicaJohn Logan

Liner Notes

Producer – Paul Kelly, Scott Litt
Engineer – Scott Litt
Engineer (Assistant) – Clif Norrell, Jim Dineen
Mastered By – Stephen Marcussen
Sequenced By – David Russo (Tracks 5, 9, 10)

Art Direction – Chuck Beeson, Jeff Gold
Design – Chuck Beeson, Peter Shea
Photography By – Larry (Rocky) Williams

Mastered At Precision Lacquer
Mixed At The Grey Room
Recorded At Ocean Way Recording
Phonographic Copyright A&M Records Inc
Copyright A&M Records Inc