1967 Nina Simone – Nina Simone Sings The Blues

Sings The Blues is an album by singer/pianist/songwriter Nina Simone. This was Simone’s first album for RCA Records after previously recording for Colpix Records and Philips Records. The album was also reissued in 2006 with bonus tracks, and re-packaged in 1991 by RCA/Novus as a 17-track compilation under the title The Blues.


1  Do I Move You (Nina Simone) 02:48
2  Day And Night (Rudy Stevenson) 02:33
3  In The Dark (Lil Green) 02:56
4  Real Real (Nina Simone) 02:20
5  My Man’s Gone Now (DuBose Heyward; George Gershwin) 04:18
6  Backlash Blues (Langston Hughes; Nina Simone) 02:30
7  I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl (Nina Simone) 02:34
8  Buck (Andy Stroud) 01:51
9  Since I Fell For You (Buddy Johnson) 02:50
10  The House Of The Rising Sun (Alan Price) 03:51
11  Blues For Mama (Abbey Lincoln; Nina Simone) 03:57


BassBob Bushnell
DrumsBernard Purdie
GuitarEric Gale
GuitarRudy Stevenson
OrganErnie Hayes
PianoNina Simone
HarmonicaBuddy Lucas
SaxBuddy Lucas
VocalsNina Simone

Liner Notes

Producer – Danny Davis
Engineer (Recording) – Mickey Crofford, Ray Hall

Recorded At RCA’s Studio B
Copyright RCA