1990 Mariah Carey – Mariah Carey

Mariah Carey is the debut studio album by American singer Mariah Carey, released on June 12, 1990, by Columbia Records. Its music incorporates a range of contemporary genres with a mix of slow ballads and up-tempo tracks. Originally, Carey wrote four songs with Ben Margulies, which solely constituted her demo tape. After Carey was signed to Columbia, all four songs, after being altered and partially re-recorded, made the final cut for the album. Aside from Margulies, Carey worked with a range of professional writers and producers, all of whom were hired by Columbia CEO, Tommy Mottola. Mariah Carey featured production and writing from Rhett Lawrence, Ric Wake and Narada Michael Walden, all of whom were top record producers at the time. Together with Carey, they conceived the album and reconstructed her original demo tape.


Vision Of Love (Ben Margulies; Mariah Carey) 03:30
2  There’s Got To Be A Way (Mariah Carey; Ric Wake) 04:53
I Don’t Wanna Cry (Mariah Carey; Narada Michael Walden) 04:48
4  Someday (Ben Margulies; Mariah Carey) 04:07
5  Vanishing (Ben Margulies; Mariah Carey) 04:13
6  All In Your Mind (Ben Margulies; Mariah Carey) 04:43
7  Alone In Love (Ben Margulies; Mariah Carey) 04:12
8  You Need Me (Mariah Carey; Rhett Lawrence) 03:51
9  Sent From Up Above (Mariah Carey; Rhett Lawrence) 04:04
10  Prisoner (Ben Margulies; Mariah Carey) 04:23
11  Love Takes Time (Ben Margulies; Mariah Carey) 03:47


1 Vision Of Love

BassMarcus Miller
DrumsBen Margulies
Drums (programming)Ben Margulies
Drums (programming)Ren Klyce
GuitarJimmy Rip
KeyboardsRhett Lawrence
VocalsMariah Carey

2 There’s Got To Be A Way

BassLouis Biancaniello
GuitarVernon Black
KeyboardsLouis Biancaniello
SynthesizerWalter Afanasieff
ProgrammingLouis Biancaniello
PercussionJoe Franco
Background VocalsBilly T Scott
Background VocalsJamiliah Muhammed
VocalsMariah Carey

3 I Don’t Wanna Cry

Bass (synthesizer)Walter Afanasieff
DrumsNarada Michael Walden
GuitarChris Camozzi
Acoustic GuitarChris Camozzi
KeyboardsWalter Afanasieff
SynthesizerWalter Afanasieff
ProgrammingWalter Afanasieff
ProgrammingRen Klyce
VocalsMariah Carey

4 Someday

Drums (programming)Joe Franco
Drums (programming)Ric Wake
GuitarJoe Franco
KeyboardsRich Tancredi
VocalsMariah Carey

5 Vanishing

PianoRichard Tee
VocalsMariah Carey

6 All In Your Mind

DrumsBen Margulies
DrumsJoe Franco
GuitarBob Cadway
GuitarChris Toland
KeyboardsRich Tancredi
KeyboardsBen Margulies
Background VocalsBilly T Scott
Background VocalsFonzi Thornton
Background VocalsHaven Clayborne
VocalsMariah Carey

7 Alone In Love

GuitarDavid Williams
GuitarMike Landau
KeyboardsRhett Lawrence
SynthesizerRhett Lawrence
VocalsMariah Carey

8 You Need Me

DrumsOmar Hakim
GuitarDavid Williams
GuitarNile Rodgers
KeyboardsRhett Lawrence
SynthesizerRhett Lawrence
VocalsMariah Carey

9 Sent From Up Above

GuitarJimmy Rip
KeyboardsRhett Lawrence
SynthesizerRhett Lawrence
VocalsMariah Carey

10 Prisoner

Drums (programming)Joe Franco
Drums (programming)Ric Wake
KeyboardsRich Tancredi
VocalsMariah Carey

11 Love Takes Time

Bass (synthesizer)Walter Afanasieff
DrumsWalter Afanasieff
KeyboardsWalter Afanasieff
SynthesizerWalter Afanasieff
ProgrammingLouis Biancaniello
ProgrammingRen Klyce
VocalsMariah Carey

Liner Notes

Producer – Rhett Lawrence (Tracks 1, 7, 8, 9)
Producer – Narada Michael Walden (Track 3)
Producer – Ric Wake (Tracks 4, 6, 10)
Producer – Mariah Carey (Track 5)
Producer – Ben Margulies (Track 6)
Producer – Walter Afanasieff (Track 11)
Co-producer – Narada Michael Walden (Tracks 1, 2)
Co-producer – Ric Wake (Track 2)
Producer (Executive) – Tommy Mottola
Arranged By – Ben Margulies, Chris Toland, Mariah Carey (Tracks 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10)
Arranged By – Narada Michael Walden (Track 3)
Arranged By – Rhett Lawrence (Track 8)
Arranged By – Walter Afanasieff (Track 11)
Arranged By (Vocal) – Mariah Carey (Track 11)
Arranged By (Additional) – Ric Wake, Rich Tancredi (Tracks 4, 10)
Arranged By (Additional Rhythm) – Narada Michael Walden (Track 1)
Engineer – Patrick Dillett (Track 1)
Engineer – Bob Cadway (Track 2)
Engineer – Patrick Dillett (Tracks 5, 8, 9)
Engineer – Dana Jon Chappelle (Track 11)
Engineer (Additional) – Dana Jon Chappelle (Track 2)
Engineer (Additional) – Chris Toland (Track 6)
Engineer (Additional) – Manny Lacarrubba (Track 11)
Mastered By – Bob Ludwig (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Mastered By – Howie Weinberg (Track 11)
Mixed By – David Frazer (Tracks 1, 2, 11)
Mixed By – Bob Cadway (Tracks 4, 6, 10)
Mixed By – Patrick Dillett (Tracks 5, 7)
Mixed By – Rhett Lawrence (Track 7)
Mixed By – Larry Alexander (Track 9)
Mixed By – Dana Jon Chappelle (Track 11)
Recorded By – Bob Cadway (Tracks 2, 4, 6, 10)
Recorded By – Patrick Dillett, Rhett Lawrence (Track 7)

Art Direction – Josephine DiDonato
Photography – Kip Meyer

Engineered At Power Station
Engineered At The Hit Factory
Engineered At Skyline Studios
Engineered At Oakshire Recorders
Mastered At Masterdisk
Mixed At Tarpan Studios
Mixed At The Plant Studios
Mixed At Power Station
Mixed At The Hit Factory
Mixed At Skyline Studios
Mixed At Oakshire Recorders
Mixed At Cove City Sound Studios
Mixed At Shakedown Sound Studios
Recorded At Skyline Studios
Recorded At Cove City Sound Studios
Recorded At Power Station
Recorded At Tarpan Studios
Recorded At The Plant Studios
Recorded At Oakshire Recorders
Recorded At Shakedown Sound Studios
Phonographic Copyright CBS Records Inc
Copyright CBS Records Inc