1985 Mink DeVille – Sportin’ Life

Sportin’ Life is the sixth and final studio album by the rock band Mink DeVille, released in 1985. Since the band’s third album, 1981’s Le Chat Bleu, when the original members of the band departed, lead singer and composer Willy DeVille had been assembling musicians to record and tour under the name Mink DeVille. After Sportin’ Life, Willy DeVille began recording and touring under his own name.

The album was recorded for Polydor at the Muscle Shoals Sound Studio in Muscle Shoals, Alabama. As he had done on Le Chat Bleu, DeVille wrote some songs with the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member Doc Pomus. Members of the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section — Roger Hawkins (drums), David Hood (bass), and Jimmy Ray Johnson (guitar) — played on the album. Except for saxophonist Louis Cortelezzi, none of the musicians had played with Willy DeVille before.

The song “Italian Shoes” was a hit in Europe


1  In The Heart Of The City (Willy DeVille) 03:20
2  I Must Be Dreaming (Willy DeVille) 04:21
3  Italian Shoes (Willy DeVille) 04:23
4  Slip Away (Willy DeVille) 04:06
5  When You Walk My Way (Willy DeVille; Doc Pomus) 03:25
6  A Woman’s Touch (Willy DeVille) 03:18
7  Easy Street (Willy DeVille) 03:31
8  Little By Little (Willy DeVille) 02:28
9  There’s No Living (Without Your Loving) (Jerry Harris; Paul Kaufman) 03:21
10  Something Beautiful Dying (Willy DeVille; Doc Pomus) 03:39


BassDavid Hood
DrumsRoger Hawkins
GuitarDuncan Cameron
KeyboardsSteve Nathan
SaxHarvey Thompson
SaxJim Horn
SaxLouis Cortelezzi
TromboneCharles Rose
TrumpetWayne Jackson
PercussionBoris Kinberg
PercussionMickey Buckins
Background VocalsAva Aldridge
Background VocalsCindy Richardson
Background VocalsDuncan Cameron
Background VocalsMicro Mini
VocalsWilly DeVille

Other Musicians

3 Italian Shoes

GuitarJimmy Ray Johnson
Background VocalsJoe Elliott
Background VocalsSteve Clark
Background VocalsPhil Collen

Liner Notes

Producer – Willy DeVille
Co-producer – Duncan Cameron
Producer (Executive) – Michael Barnett
Arranged By (Horns) – Greg Smith (Track 3)
Arranged By (Horns) – Charles Rose (Track 7)
Arranged By (Horns) – Jim Horn (Track 8)
Engineer (Mix, Recording) – Ronald Prent
Engineer (Recording Assistant) – Pete Greene

Art Direction – Maximillian
Photography By – Jamie Morgan

Mixed At Wisseloord Studios
Recorded At Muscle Shoals Sound Studios
Phonographic Copyright Polydor International
Copyright Polydor International