1970 Bill Cowsill – Nervous Breakthrough

Nervous Breakthrough (1970, MGM Records) is the only solo album released by Bill Cowsill.

William Joseph Cowsill Jr. (January 9, 1948 – February 18, 2006) was an American singer, musician, songwriter, and record producer. He was the lead singer and guitarist of The Cowsills, who had three top-10 singles in the late 1960s. From the mid-1970s until his death, he was a successful alt-country artist and producer in Canada.


1  When Everybody’s Here (Bill Cowsill) 03:00
2  Take The Gun (Steve Lalor) 03:20
3  Wish I Could Say The Same About You (Bill Cowsill; Debra Clinger) 03:25
4  Nobody (Dick Cooper; Ernie Shelby; Beth Beatty) 03:05
5  Ride (Steve Lalor; Kerry Magness) 03:40
6  I Only Want To Be With You (Mike Hawker; Ivor Raymonde) 02:55
7  The End Of The World (Arthur Kent; Sylvia Dee) 03:10
8  The Shoop Shoop Song (Rudy Clark) 02:15
9  II X II (Bill Cowsill) 05:45


BassBill Cowsill
VocalsBill Cowsill
DrumsCraig Benson
DrumsPatsy Clinger
GuitarSteve Lalor

Other Musicians

2 Take The Gun

OrganGrant Johnson
PianoGrant Johnson

3 Wish I Could Say The Same About You

GuitarDoug Hastings

7 The End Of The World

GuitarWaddy Wachtel
Slide GuitarWaddy Wachtel

8 The Shoop Shoop Song

Background VocalsWaddy Wachtel
Background VocalsJudi Pulver


Pedal Steel GuitarPete Kleinow

Liner Notes

Producer – Bill Cowsill
Engineer – Richie Moore

Design, Photography – Jimmy Wachtel

Copyright MGM Records