1988 Darlene Love – Paint Another Picture

Paint Another Picture (1988, CBS) is the first solo album from Darlene Love.

Darlene Wright (born July 26, 1941), known professionally as Darlene Love, is an American singer and actress. She was the lead singer of the girl group the Blossoms and she also recorded as a solo artist.


1  He’s Sure The Man I Love (Barry Mann; Cynthia Weil) 03:26
2  Paint Another Picture (Amy Sky; Scott Cutler) 03:39
3  I’ve Never Been The Same (Jonah Ellis; Judy Wieder) 04:40
4  Desperate Lover (Billy Steinberg; Gary Richrath; Tom Kelly) 04:16
5  Everybody Needs (Kenny Laguna; Peter Anders) 02:52
6  Gypsy Lover (Rick Giles; Steve Bogard) 04:00
7  Love Must Be Love (Alan Gordon; Paul Shaffer) 03:57
8  We Stand A Chance (Tom Petty) 03:43
9  You’ll Never Walk Alone (Richard Rodgers; Oscar Hammerstein II) 03:02


1 He’s Sure The Man I Love

Drums (programming)Peter Bunetta
GuitarDann Huff
KeyboardsKenny Laguna
KeyboardsRick Chudacoff
KeyboardsRobbie Buchanan
SaxGregory H Smith
SaxJerry Jumonville
SaxRon Viola
TromboneNick Lane
TrumpetDarrell Leonard
TrumpetJohn Thomas
Background VocalsBillie Barnum
Background VocalsCarolyn Willis
Background VocalsEdna Wright
Background VocalsKal David
Background VocalsLeslie Smith
Background VocalsPeter Bunetta
VocalsDarlene Love

2 Paint Another Picture

Drums (programming)Robbie Buchanan
GuitarDann Huff
KeyboardsRobbie Buchanan
Background VocalsEdna Wright
VocalsDarlene Love

3 I’ve Never Been The Same

BassRick Chudacoff
Drums (programming)Peter Bunetta
GuitarDann Huff
Slide GuitarRicky Byrd
KeyboardsRobbie Buchanan
Background VocalsCarolyn Willis
Background VocalsEdna Wright
Background VocalsMaxayn Lewis
VocalsDarlene Love

4 Desperate Lover

BassDennis Belfield
DrumsVinnie Colaiuta
GuitarMike Landau
PianoTom Kelly
SynthesizerAlan Pasqua
HarmonicaPaul Butterfield
Background VocalsTom Kelly
Background VocalsPatricia Perry
VocalsDarlene Love

5 Everybody Needs

GuitarKenny Laguna
KeyboardsRonnie Laws
VocalsDarlene Love

6 Gypsy Lover

Drums (programming)Peter Bunetta
GuitarBrian Ray
GuitarDann Huff
KeyboardsRick Chudacoff
KeyboardsRobbie Buchanan
Background VocalsEdna Wright
VocalsDarlene Love

7 Love Must Be Love

Drums (programming)Jimmy Bralower
Guitar (solo)Hiram Bullock
GuitarJoan Jett
KeyboardsPaul Shaffer
Background VocalsEdna Wright
Background VocalsMichael Gray
Background VocalsPaul Shaffer
Background VocalsUla Hedwig
VocalsDarlene Love

8 We Stand A Chance

BassTM Stevens
DrumsOmar Hakim
Drums (programming)Steven Rubin
GuitarTom Petty
KeyboardsBenmont Tench
KeyboardsDavid Ervin
KeyboardsKenny Laguna
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsEdna Wright
VocalsDarlene Love

9 You’ll Never Walk Alone

PianoRonnie Laws
VocalsDarlene Love

Liner Notes

Producer – Peter Bunetta, Rick Chudacoff (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 6)
Producer – Kenny Laguna (Tracks 1, 5, 9)
Producer – Billy Steinberg, Tom Kelly (Track 4)
Producer – Paul Shaffer (Track 7)
Producer – Jimmy Iovine (Track 8)
Co-producer – Kenny Laguna (Track 3)
Producer (Executive) – Kenny Laguna, Mickey Eichner
Arranged By – Robbie Buchanan (Track 2)
Arranged By – Peter Bunetta, Rick Chudacoff (Track 6)
Arranged By – Tom Petty (Track 8)
Arranged By (Horns) – Darrell Leonard (Track 1)
Engineer – Daren Klein (Tracks 2, 3, 6)
Engineer – George Tutko (Track 4)
Engineer – Roger Talkov (Tracks 5, 9)
Engineer – Thom Panunzio (Tracks 7, 8)
Engineer (Assistant) – Mike Bosley, Toby Wright (Track 4)
Engineer (Assistant) – Clark Germain, Marnie Riley, Stacy Baird (Track 6)
Engineer (Assistant) – Jay Healy (Track 7)
Engineer (Assistant) – Mike Bowman, Rob Jacobs (Track 8)
Engineer (Assistant) – Andrew Spiegelman, Rich Travali, Bob Smith, Tim Leitner (Track 9)
Mixed By – Mick Guzauski (Track 1)
Mixed By – Daren Klein (Tracks 2, 3, 4, 6, 7)
Mixed By – Kenny Laguna (Track 4)
Mixed By – Roger Talkov (Tracks 5, 9)
Mixed By – Mike Shipley (Track 8)

Art Direction – Allen Weinberg
Photography – Art Kane

Recorded At The Bunny Hop
Recorded At Conway Studios
Recorded At American Recording Co.
Recorded At Ocean Way Recording
Recorded At One On One Studios
Recorded At Cherokee Studios
Recorded At The Hit Factory
Recorded At A&M Studios
Phonographic Copyright CBS Records Inc
Copyright CBS Records Inc