1985 Luther Vandross – The Night I Fell In Love

The Night I Fell In Love is the fourth studio album by American R&B/soul singer-songwriter Luther Vandross, released on March 8, 1985 by Epic Records. In 1986, Vandross garnered a nomination for the Grammy Award for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance and two American Music Awards, Favorite Soul/R&B Male Artist and Favorite Soul/R&B Album. The first single “‘Til My Baby Comes Home” is notable for featuring Billy Preston on organ.

The Night I Fell in Love reached number nineteen on the US Billboard 200 album chart and topped the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums charts, it was ranked #93 on Rolling Stone Magazine’s list of the 100 best albums of the 1980s. The album was later be certified double platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).


Til My Baby Comes Home (Luther Vandross; Marcus Miller) 05:32
2  The Night I Fell In Love (Luther Vandross; Marcus Miller) 06:08
3  If Only For One Night (Brenda Russell) 04:15
4  Creepin’ (Stevie Wonder) 04:07
5  It’s Over Now (Luther Vandross; Marcus Miller) 06:10
6  Wait For Love (Luther Vandross; Nat Adderley Jr) 05:17
7  My Sensitivity (Gets In The Way) (Luther Vandross) 04:10
8  Other Side Of The World (Luther Vandross; Nat Adderley Jr) 06:01


BassMarcus Miller
DrumsYogi Horton
GuitarDoc Powell
GuitarGeorg Wadenius
KeyboardsNat Adderley Jr
SynthesizerEd Walsh
SynthesizerMarcus Miller
SynthesizerNat Adderley Jr
SynthesizerSkip Anderson
ProgrammingEd Walsh
ProgrammingSkip Anderson
BongosSteve Kroon
CongasPaulinho Da Costa
CongasSteve Kroon
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsBrenda White
Background VocalsDarlene Love
Background VocalsMichelle Cobbs
Background VocalsPaulette McWilliams
Background VocalsFonzi Thornton
Background VocalsMarcus Miller
Background VocalsPhillip Ballou
Background VocalsAlfa Anderson
Background VocalsCissy Houston
Background VocalsLisa Fischer
Background VocalsMyrna Smith
Background VocalsYvonne Lewis
VocalsLuther Vandross

Liner Notes

Producer – Luther Vandross
Producer – Marcus Miller (Tracks 1, 2, 5)
Producer (Executive) – Larkin Arnold
Arranged By (Rhythm, Synthesizer) – Marcus Miller (Tracks 1, 2, 5)
Arranged By (Rhythm, Synthesizer) – Nat Adderley Jr (Tracks 3, 4, 6, 7, 8)
Arranged By (Strings) – Nat Adderley Jr
Arranged By (Vocals) – Luther Vandross
Coordinator – Sephra Herman, Gordon Elliott
Engineer – Ray Bardani
Engineer (Assistant) – Matt Butler, Tom Roberts, Iris Cohen, Dave Greenberg, Bruce Wildstein, Alex Haas, Garry Rindfuss, Ric Butz
Mastered By – Greg Calbi
Mixed By – Ray Bardani
Technician – Dominick Celani, Barri Kaye, Frank Ogilvey, Bruce Robbins, Barry Steinpress

Art Direction – George Corsillo
Photography – Brian Hagiwara

Mastered At Sterling Sound
Mixed At Westlake Studios
Recorded At AIR Studios, Montserrat
Recorded At Mediasound
Recorded At Minot Sound
Recorded At Power Station
Recorded At Westlake Studios
Phonographic Copyright CBS Inc
Copyright CBS Inc