1981 Gary O’Connor – Gary O´

Gary O’ is the debut solo album by Gary O’Connor. It was released in 1981 on Capitol Records.

Gary O’Connor, better known as Gary O’, is a Canadian rock singer and songwriter. He is best known for the singles “Pay You Back with Interest” and “All the Young Heroes”, which were popular in the early 1980s, and for receiving a Juno Award nomination for Most Promising Male Vocalist at the Juno Awards of 1982. He wrote the 38 Special song, “Back Where You Belong”, which reached number 20 on the Billboard Hot 100 charts in 1983.


1  All The Young Heroes (Gary O’Connor) 03:38
2  Pay You Back With Interest (Allan Clarke; Graham Nash; Tony Hicks) 02:47
3  California Goodbye (Gary O’Connor) 05:37
4  I Believe In You (Gary O’Connor) 03:48
5  Suzanne (Gary O’Connor) 02:56
6  The Way You Look Tonight (Gary O’Connor) 03:46
7  Just A Little Love (Gary O’Connor) 03:20
8  Nightrider (Gary O’Connor) 04:07
9  Been A Long Time (Gary O’Connor) 04:12


BassBryan Garofalo
DrumsCraig Krampf
GuitarDavid Landau
GuitarGeorge Doering
GuitarGary O’Connor
KeyboardsJai Winding
KeyboardsPeter Wolf
KeyboardsRichard Landis
SynthesizerPeter Wolf
Background VocalsJim Haas
Background VocalsJon Joyce
Background VocalsStan Farber
VocalsGary O’Connor

Liner Notes

Producer – Richard Landis
Arranged By (Strings) – Charlie Calello
Conductor – Charlie Calello
Coordinator – Ruth Burghardt
Engineer (Assistant) – Dana Bisbee, Hugh Davies, Mitch Gibson
Mastered By – Wally Traugott
Mixed By (Assistant) – Les Cooper
Recorded By – Joe Chiccarelli

Art Direction, Design – Design Workshop Inc, Ken Young

Mastered At Capitol Studios
Mixed At Rumbo Recorders
Recorded At Clover Recorders
Recorded At Soundcastle
Recorded At Capitol Studios
Phonographic Copyright Capitol Records Inc
Copyright Capitol Records Inc