1980 Tammy Wynette – Only Lonely Sometimes

Only Lonely Sometimes is the twenty-first studio album by American country music singer-songwriter Tammy Wynette. It was released on June 9, 1980, by Epic Records.

The album peaked at No. 37 on the Billboard Country Albums chart. The album’s first single, “He Was There (When I Needed You)”, peaked at No. 17 on the Billboard Country Singles chart, and the album’s second single, “Starting Over”, also peaked at No. 17.


1  He Was There (When I Needed You) (Sue Richards) 03:15
2  I’ll Be Thinking Of You (Sue Richards) 03:59
3  You Never Knew (Jerry Taylor; Robert John Jones) 02:59
4  Come With Me (Chuck Howard) 02:55
5  You Needed Me (Randy Goodrum) 03:23
6  Starting Over (Bob McDill) 03:07
7  Out Of The Spotlight (Jerry Taylor; Robert John Jones) 03:24
8  Only The Names Have Been Changed (Jan Howard; Tammy Wynette) 03:13
9  When You Love Me (Jerry Taylor; Paul Richey) 03:17
10  Ozark Mountain Lullaby (Robert John Jones) 03:13


BassHenry Strzelecki
BassRalph Ezell
DrumsJerry Carrigan
DrumsKenny Malone
DrumsOwen Hale
GuitarJimmy English
GuitarPhil Baugh
GuitarReggie Young
Steel GuitarPete Drake
KeyboardsGeorge Richey
KeyboardsChalmers Davis
KeyboardsHargus Robbins
KeyboardsSteve Nathan
FiddleJohnny Gimble
VocalsTammy Wynette

Other Musicians

8  Only The Names Have Been Changed

Background VocalsCC Couch
Background VocalsDianne Davidson
Background VocalsJune Page
Background VocalsTom Brannon

Background Vocals – Nightstreets (Tracks 3, 4, 7, 9)
Strings – The Shelly Kurland Strings

Liner Notes

Producer – Billy Sherrill
Arranged By (Strings) – Bill McElhiney
Engineer – Lou Bradley, Mike Daniel, Ron Reynolds

Art Direction – Virginia Team
Photography – Norman Seff

Mastered At CBS Studios, Nashville
Recorded At CBS Studios, Nashville
Recorded At Fame Recording Studios
Phonographic Copyright CBS Inc
Copyright CBS Inc