1976 Jaco Pastorius – Jaco Pastorius

Jaco Pastorius is the debut solo album by Jaco Pastorius, released in 1976 by Epic Records. The album was produced by Bobby Colomby, drummer and founder of Blood, Sweat & Tears.


1  Donna Lee (Charlie Parker) 02:27
2  Come On, Come Over (Bob Herzog; Jaco Pastorius) 03:53
3  Continuum (Jaco Pastorius) 04:33
4  Kuru / Speak Like A Child (Jaco Pastorius; Herbie Hancock) 07:42
5  Portrait Of Tracy (Jaco Pastorius) 02:22
6  Opus Pocus (Jaco Pastorius) 05:29
7  Okonkolé Y Trompa (Jaco Pastorius; Don Alias) 04:25
8  (Used To Be A) Cha-Cha (Jaco Pastorius) 08:57
9  Forgotten Love (Jaco Pastorius) 02:14


1 Donna Lee

BassJaco Pastorius
CongasDon Alias

2 Come On, Come Over

BassJaco Pastorius
DrumsNarada Michael Walden
KeyboardsHerbie Hancock
SaxDavid Sanborn
SaxHoward Johnson
SaxMichael Brecker
TrumpetRandy Brecker
TrumpetRon Tooley
CongasDon Alias
VocalsSam Moore
VocalsDavid Prater

3 Continuum

BassJaco Pastorius
DrumsLenny White
Fender RhodesAlex Darqui
Fender RhodesHerbie Hancock
BellsDon Alias

4 Kuru / Speak Like A Child

BassJaco Pastorius
DrumsBobby Economou
PianoHerbie Hancock
BongosDon Alias
CongasDon Alias

5 Portrait Of Tracy

BassJaco Pastorius

6 Opus Pocus

BassJaco Pastorius
DrumsLenny White
Fender RhodesHerbie Hancock
SaxWayne Shorter
Steel DrumsOthello Molineaux
Steel DrumsLeroy Williams

7 Okonkolé Y Trompa

BassJaco Pastorius
French HornPeter Gordon
CongasDon Alias
PercussionDon Alias

8 (Used To Be A) Cha-Cha

BassJaco Pastorius
DrumsLenny White
PianoHerbie Hancock
FluteHubert Laws
CongasDon Alias

9 Forgotten Love

BassJaco Pastorius
PianoHerbie Hancock

Other Musicians

Cello – Beverly Lauridsen, Charles McCracken, Kermit Moore (Tracks 4, 9)
Cello – Alan Shulman (Track 9)
Double Bass – Homer Mensch, Richard Davis (Track 9)
Viola – Emanuel Vardi, Julien Barber, Selwart Clarke (Tracks 4, 9)
Viola – Al Brown (Track 9)
Violin – David Nadien, Harold Kohon, Harry Cykman, Harry Lookofsky, Joe Malin, Paul Gershman (Tracks 4, 9)
Violin – Arnold Black, Matthew Raimondi, Max Pollikoff (Track 9)

Liner Notes

Producer – Bobby Colomby
Arranged By – Michael Gibbs (Track 9)
Arranged By (Horns) – Jaco Pastorius (Track 2)
Arranged By (Strings) – Jaco Pastorius (Track 4)
Concertmaster – David Nadien (Track 4)
Conductor (Strings) – Michael Gibbs (Tracks 4, 9)
Engineer – Dave Palmer, Don Puluse
Engineer (Assistant) – Ted Hammond, Ted Brosnan

Design – Anthony Maggiore, Ed Lee
Photography – Don Hunstein

Mixed At Camp Colomby
Recorded At Camp Colomby
Recorded At Columbia Recording Studios
Phonographic Copyright CBS Inc
Copyright CBS Inc