1995 Soundtrack – The Cure

The Cure is a 1995 American drama film directed by Peter Horton and written by Robert Kuhn. The film stars Brad Renfro and Joseph Mazzello and follows an unlikely friendship between two boys, one of whom is suffering from AIDS. When the boys hear of a possible cure for the disease, they set out on a quest to find it.

The original soundtrack to the film was composed by Dave Grusin and released by GRP Records on May 9, 1995. Tommy Morgan contributed to the musical harmony and Michael Fisher worked with percussion. The instruments used in the martial band of the track are: piano, electric bass, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, synthesizer, and alto flute. The song called “My Great Escape” was written and performed by Marc Cohn. However, this song has never been released in any medium outside of the film.


1  First Visit (Dave Grusin) 01:55
2  Battleship (Dave Grusin) 01:21
3  Shopping Cart Ride (Dave Grusin) 01:24
4  “Soon As They Find A Cure…” (Dave Grusin) 01:54
5  Candy Montage (Dave Grusin) 01:34
6  Gathering Leaves (Dave Grusin) 02:15
7  Bedtime/Big Changes (Dave Grusin) 02:57
8  Mississippi Montage (Dave Grusin) 02:08
9  “Make Mine A T-Bone” (Dave Grusin) 01:37
10  A Million Light Years (Dave Grusin) 03:23
11  Found Money (Dave Grusin) 02:15
12  Chase & Confrontation (Dave Grusin) 02:50
13  Going Home (Dave Grusin) 03:04
14  “We Call It A Miracle” (Dave Grusin) 01:57
15  Rain/Realization (Dave Grusin) 01:44
16  Requiem (Dave Grusin) 03:28
17  Last Visit (Dave Grusin) 02:21
18  Down The River/End Credits (Dave Grusin) 05:33


BassJimmy Johnson
DrumsHarvey Mason Sr
GuitarDean Parks
GuitarGeorge Doering
Acoustic GuitarDean Parks
Acoustic GuitarGeorge Doering
PianoDave Grusin
PianoRalph Grierson
FluteJim Walker
Tin WhistleJim Walker
RecorderJim Walker
PercussionMike Fisher

Liner Notes

Producer – Dave Grusin, Scott Grusin
Conductor – Dave Grusin
Concertmaster – Stuart Canin
Contractor – Sandy De Crescent

Art Direction, Design – Freddie Paloma
Photography – Vivian Zink

Edited At The Review Room
Mastered At Sterling Sound
Recorded At O’Henry Sound Studios
Phonographic Copyright GRP Records Inc
Copyright GRP Records Inc