1971 The Flying Burrito Brothers – The Flying Burrito Bros

The Flying Burrito Bros is the third album by the country rock group, The Flying Burrito Brothers, released in the spring of 1971. Before recording sessions for the album began, Chris Hillman fired Gram Parsons from the band, leaving Hillman and “Sneaky” Pete Kleinow as the only original continuing members. In Parsons’ place, the band hired a young unknown musician named Rick Roberts, who later was the primary lead singer of Firefall. Guitarist Bernie Leadon would also leave the band shortly after the album’s release, going on to co-found the Eagles.

Over the winter of 1970 to 1971 the band returned to Sunset Studios to record their third album. With Jim Dickson again the producer, assisted by Bob Hughes, the group developed original pieces mainly from Chris Hillman and Rick Roberts, along with a revisitation of a Bob Dylan composition. Several outtakes from the recording sessions later appeared on several compilations following the band’s demise. Following the release of the album, further personnel changes occurred including Kleinow departing to focus solely on session recordings.


1  White Line Fever (Merle Haggard) 03:16
2  Colorado (Chris Hillman; Rick Roberts) 04:52
3  Hand To Mouth (Chris Hillman; Rick Roberts) 03:44
4  Tried So Hard (Gene Clark) 03:08
5  Just Can’t Be (Chris Hillman; Rick Roberts) 04:58
6  To Ramona (Bob Dylan) 03:40
7  Four Days Of Rain (Rick Roberts) 03:39
8  Can’t You Hear Me Calling (Chris Hillman; Rick Roberts) 02:23
9  All Alone (Chris Hillman; Rick Roberts) 03:33
10  Why Are You Crying (Rick Roberts) 03:02

The Band

BassChris Hillman
DrumsMichael Clarke
GuitarBernie Leadon
GuitarRick Roberts
Acoustic GuitarBernie Leadon
BanjoBernie Leadon
Pedal Steel GuitarPete Kleinow
VocalsBernie Leadon
VocalsRick Roberts
VocalsChris Hillman

Other Musicians

1 White Line Fever

PianoEarl Ball

3 Hand To Mouth

PianoEarl Ball
12 String GuitarBob Gibson

6 To Ramona

GuitarMike Deasy

Liner Notes

Producer – Bob Hughes, Jim Dickson
Engineer – Bob Hughes, Lillian Douma

Art Direction – Roland Young
Design – Chuck Beeson
Photography – Al Kramer, Jim McCrary

Recorded At Record Plant, Los Angeles
Copyright A&M Records