1970 Jean-Pierre Ferland – Jaune

Jaune is an album by Jean-Pierre Ferland, released in 1970. Considered an enduring classic of Canadian and Quebec music, the album was named the 71st greatest Canadian album of all time in Bob Mersereau’s 2007 book The Top 100 Canadian Albums. It was the only francophone album from Quebec named to the list besides the three studio albums by Harmonium.

In 2005 Ferland released a 35th anniversary box set version of the album, which included the original album, new recordings of the album’s songs by Ferland himself, an audio DVD including a surround sound remastering of the album, and a disc including covers of the album’s songs by musicians such as Ariane Moffatt, Champion, Montag, Sixtoo, Kid Loco and Carl Bastien. “Le Chat du café des artistes” was covered by Charlotte Gainsbourg on her 2010 album IRM.

American musicians, guitarist David Spinozza, bassist Tony Levin & drummer Jim Young played on this album. On keyboards – mainly piano -, synthesizer and arrangements, Michel Robidoux was the leader.

In 2018, the album won the Polaris Heritage Prize Jury Award in the 1960-1975 category.


1  Prologue (Jean-Pierre Ferland) 01:02
2  Le Petit Roi (Jean-Pierre Ferland; Michel Robidoux) 04:13
3  Quand On Aime On A Toujours Vingt Ans (Jean-Pierre Ferland; Michel Robidoux) 02:58
4  Sing Sing (Jean-Pierre Ferland; Michel Robidoux) 04:56
5  God Is An Americain (Jean-Pierre Ferland) 05:04
6  Le Chat Du Café Des Artistes (Jean-Pierre Ferland; Michel Robidoux) 04:39
7  … (Jean-Pierre Ferland; Michel Robidoux) 00:44
8  Y’a Des Jours (Jean-Pierre Ferland) 03:47
9  Ce Qu’on Dit Quand On Tient Une Femme Dans Ses Bras (Jean-Pierre Ferland) 03:50
10  Épilogue (Jean-Pierre Ferland) 01:21
11  It Ain’t Fair (Jean-Pierre Ferland) 02:07


BassTony Levin
DrumsJimmy Young
GuitarDavid Spinozza
BrassGuido Basso
VocalsJean-Pierre Ferland

Other Musicians

Choir – Les Petits Chanteurs Du Mont-Royal
Strings – Josiane Roy

Liner Notes

Producer – André Perry
Arranged By – Buddy Fasano (Tracks 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11)
Arranged By – Art Philips (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 7, 9)
Concept By – André Perry
Directed By – André Perry
Directed By – Buddy Fasano (Tracks 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11)
Directed By – Art Philips (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 7, 9)
Engineer – André Perry, Claude Demers
Music Consultant – Michel Robidoux
Orchestrated By – Buddy Fasano (Tracks 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11)
Orchestrated By – Art Philips (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 7, 9)
Recorded By – André Perry, Claude Demers

Recorded At Studios André Perry
Phonographic Copyright Jaune
Copyright Jaune