Wayne Krantz

Wayne Krantz is an American guitarist and composer. He has performed and recorded with Steely Dan, Michael Brecker, Donald Fagen, Billy Cobham, Chris Potter, David Binney, and Carla Bley. Since the early 1990s, Krantz has focused primarily on his solo career, mostly as the leader of a trio.

A native of Corvallis, Oregon, Krantz was inspired to play guitar when he was fourteen after hearing the Beatles. Although he played in country and rock bands, he heard jazz through his father’s album collection. He was in a band that included Bill Frisell and went on tour with Carla Bley. He released his debut solo album, Signals, in 1991. He formed a trio with Lincoln Goines and Zach Danziger, then with Tim Lefebvre and Keith Carlock. He has also worked with Billy Cobham, Michael Brecker, Chris Potter, and Steely Dan.

Krantz signed with record label Abstract Logix to release his first studio record in over fifteen years: Krantz Carlock Lefebvre (2009) which was recorded in a trio with Lefebvre and Carlock. In 2012, Krantz released Howie 61 (a reference to Bob Dylan’s Highway 61 Revisited), which includes John Patitucci, Charley Drayton, Tal Wilkenfeld, Vinnie Colaiuta, Anton Fig, Jeremy Stacey, Paul Stacey, Pino Palladino, Gabriela Anders, Kenny Wollesen, Nate Wood, Henry Hey, and Owen Biddle. (website)

Albums posted on this website: