2003 Ruben Studdard – Soulful

Soulful is the debut studio album from second-season American Idol winner Ruben Studdard, released on December 9, 2003 by J Records. The record received mixed reviews from critics divided over the quality of the track listing and Ruben’s vocal performance. Soulful debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 and spawned two singles: “Sorry 2004” and “What If”.


Sorry 2004 (Harvey Mason Sr; Damon Thomas; Ronnie Jackson; Tony Dixon; Eric Dawkins) 04:25
2  No Ruben (Harold Lilly; Melvin Coleman; Will Jennings; Joe Sample) 04:02
3  How Can You Mend A Broken Heart (Barry Gibb; Robin Gibb) 04:25
4  Take The Shot (Kasseem Dean; Harold Lilly) 04:05
5  What Is Sexy (Irving Lorenzo; Jeffrey Atkins; Nathaniel Robinson; Kirk Robinson; Mark Morales; Mark Rooney) 03:40
6  What If (Eric Dawkins; Tony Dixon; Jason Edmonds; Harvey Mason Jr; Damon Thomas) 04:00
7  Superstar (Bonnie Bramlett; Leon Russell) 04:15
8  Can I Get Your Attention (Harold Lilly; Gerald Thomas) 03:40
9  For All We Know (Sam Lewis; Fred Coots) 03:40
10  Play Our Song (Johnta Austin; Kevin Hicks; Keri Hilson) 04:07
11  Don’t Quit On Me (Kasseem Dean; Harold Lilly) 03:20
12  After The Candles Burn (Jason Boyd; Vidal Davis; Andre Harris; Ryan Toby) 03:31
13  Flying Without Wings (Wayne Hector; Steve Mac) 03:45
14  We Have Not Forgotten (Noel Hall; Fred Hammond) 04:40


1 Sorry 2004

Background VocalsEric Dawkins
VocalsRuben Studdard

2 No Ruben

Background VocalsHarold Lilly
VocalsRuben Studdard

3 How Can You Mend A Broken Heart

BassJohn Nevin
DrumsSteve Ferrera
GuitarCarl Sturken
KeyboardsCarl Sturken
Background VocalsCindy Mizelle
VocalsRuben Studdard

4 Take The Shot

VocalsRuben Studdard

5 What Is Sexy

BassDemetrius McGhee
GuitarKendred Smith
RapFat Joe
VocalsRuben Studdard

6 What If

Background VocalsEric Dawkins
VocalsRuben Studdard

7 Superstar

GuitarMark Jaimes
KeyboardsPete Murray
PianoPete Murray
VocalsRuben Studdard

8 Can I Get Your Attention

Background VocalsHarold Lilly
VocalsPretty Tony
VocalsRuben Studdard

9 For All We Know

GuitarCarl Sturken
KeyboardsCarl Sturken
KeyboardsRob Mounsey
PianoRob Mounsey
FluteLawrence Feldman
French HornPeter Gordon
VocalsRuben Studdard

10 Play Our Song

VocalsRuben Studdard

11 Don’t Quit On Me

VocalsRuben Studdard

12 After The Candles Burn

All Other InstrumentsAndre Harris
All Other InstrumentsVidal Davis
GuitarKevin Hanson
PianoJames Poyser
VocalsRuben Studdard

13 Flying Without Wings

BassNathan East
DrumsRicky Lawson
GuitarMichael Thompson
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
Background VocalsErica King
Background VocalsCecilia Bereal-Powell
Background VocalsAndrese Kennedy
Background VocalsAngie Fisher
Background VocalsMaxine Anderson
Background VocalsMelissa Bereal
Background VocalsErica Bell
Background VocalsCrystal Drummer
Background VocalsLatanya Bereal
Background VocalsJoel Bowers
Background VocalsAnthony Wikins
Background VocalsJoseph Bereal
Background VocalsKevin Milburn
Background VocalsEdward Lawson
VocalsRuben Studdard

14 We Have Not Forgotten

Drums (programming)Fred Hammond
Drums (programming)Tommie Walker
GuitarJoey Woolfalk
KeyboardsNoel Hall
VocalsRuben Studdard

Other Musicians

Cello – Jennie Lorenzo (Track 3)
Cello – Richard Locker (Track 9)
Cello – Daniel Smith, Larry Corbett, Suzie Katayama (Track 13)
Viola – Davis Barnett, Peter Nocella (Track 3)
Viola – Vincent Lionti (Track 9)
Viola – Evan Wilson, Karie Prescott, Robert Becker (Track 13)
Violin – Charlene Kwas, Emma Kummrow, Ghislaine Fleischmann, Gloria Justen, Igor Szwec, Olga Konopelsky (Track 3)
Violin – Elena Barere, Barry Finclair, Cenovia Cummins, Jonathan Dinklage, Richard Sortomme (Track 9)

Liner Notes

Producer – Clive Davis
Producer – Damon Thomas, Harvey Mason Jr (Tracks 1, 6, 13)
Producer – Harold Lilly, Melvin Coleman (Track 2)
Producer – Carl Sturken, Evan Rogers (Tracks 3, 9)
Producer – Swizz Beatz (Track 4)
Producer – Irv Gotti (Track 5)
Producer – James McMillan (Track 7)
Producer – Gerard Thomas, Harold Lilly (Track 8)
Producer – Jazze Pha (Track 10)
Producer – Swizz Beatz (Track 11)
Producer – Andre Harris, Vidal Davis (Track 12)
Producer – Fred Hammond (Track 14)
Co-producer – Kevin Hicks (Track 10)
Arranged By – James McMillan
Arranged By (Strings) – Larry Gold
Concertmaster – Joel Derouin
Conductor – Larry Gold, Rob Mounsey
Engineer – Kamel Abdo, Paul Boutin, Jim Bottari, Steve Churchyard, Steve Conover, Vincent Dilorenzo, Bruce Fraser, Dabling Harward, Al Hemberger, Alex Reverberi, Brian Springer, Doc Wiley
Engineer (Assistant) – Terrence Cash, Mike Davis, Gordon Goss, Hart Gunther, Kev Mahoney, John McGlinchey, Malcolm Pollack, Tim Roberts, Kevin Wilson
Mastered By – Chris Gehringer
Mixed By – Dave Russell (Tracks 1, 6, 13)
Mixed By – John Frye (Track 2)
Mixed By – Al Hemberger (Tracks 3, 9)
Mixed By – Rich Keller (Track 4)
Mixed By – DURO (Track 5)
Mixed By – Rob Chiarelli (Track 7)
Mixed By – Serban Ghenea (Track 8)
Mixed By – Leslie Brathwaite (Track 10)
Mixed By – Kevin Davis (Track 11)
Mixed By – Andre Harris, Vidal Davis, Jon Smeltz (Track 12)
Mixed By – Fred Hammond, Ray Hammond (Track 14)

Artwork – Chris LeBeau
Design – Alexis Yraola
Photography – Kwaku Alston

Recorded At Brandon’s Way, Hollywood, CA
Recorded At Crackhouse Studios, LA, CA
Recorded At Enterprise Studios
Recorded At Face To Face Studios, Southfield, MI
Recorded At Larrabee Studios, LA, CA
Recorded At PatchWerk Recording Studios, Atlanta, GA
Recorded At Quad Recording Studios, New York, NY
Recorded At Right Track Studios, New York, NY
Recorded At Sony Studios, New York, NY
Recorded At South Beach Studios, Miami Beach, FL
Recorded At The Loft, Bronxville, NY
Recorded At The Studio, Philadelphia, PA
Recorded At Underlab, Los Angeles, CA
Phonographic Copyright 19 Recordings Ltd.
Copyright J Records