1990 The Who – Join Together

Join Together is a box set of live material released from The Who‘s 1989 25th Anniversary Tour. Several of the tracks were recorded at Radio City Music Hall, New York, and at Universal Amphitheater, Los Angeles, with the rest from various other concerts during the tour. The live rendition of Tommy was compiled from two charity shows on 27 June at New York City’s Radio City Music Hall(*) and on 24 August at the Universal Amphitheatre in Los Angeles. Songs from the second part of the album originated from 6 concerts (verified by comparison with audience recordings from the tour): A Little Is Enough and Won’t Get Fooled Again come from Pontiac, MI, 25 July; Eminence Front and 5.15 – Raleigh, NC, 27 July; Rough Boys – Tampa, FL, 29 July; Trick of the Light – Vancouver, BC, 19 August; Face the Face, Join Together and You Better You Bet come from the show on 22 August at Jack Murphy Stadium in San Diego; Dig, I Can See for Miles, Love Reign O’er Me and Behind Blue Eyes come from the show at the Universal Amphitheatre in Los Angeles on 24 August 1989.

It was released in 1990 by Virgin Records in the UK and MCA Records in the US. The album was released in the US as a vinyl three LP set in March 1990, where it reached #180 in the US charts. It was also released on cassette tape, and later released on MCA as a two-CD set. The box set included a full colour booklet including credits and pictures from the tour, and was dedicated to Keith Moon.


Disc 1
1 Overture (Pete Townshend) 05:26
2 1921 (Pete Townshend) 02:51
3 Amazing Journey (Pete Townshend) 03:06
4 Sparks (Pete Townshend) 04:35
5 The Hawker (Eyesight To The Blind) (Pete Townshend) 02:14
6 Christmas (Pete Townshend) 04:24
7 Cousin Kevin (John Entwistle) 03:56
8 The Acid Queen (Pete Townshend) 03:44
9 Pinball Wizard (Pete Townshend) 04:20
10 Do You Think It’s Alright? (Pete Townshend) 00:23
11 Fiddle About (John Entwistle) 01:38
12 There’s A Doctor (Pete Townshend) 00:21
13 Go To The Mirror (Pete Townshend) 03:21
14 Smash The Mirror (Pete Townshend) 01:09
15 Tommy Can You Hear Me? (Pete Townshend) 00:57
16 I’m Free (Pete Townshend) 02:11
17 Miracle Cure (Pete Townshend) 00:22
18 Sally Simpson (Pete Townshend) 04:18
19 Sensation (Pete Townshend) 02:21
20 Tommy’s Holiday Camp (Keith Moon) 00:55
21 We’re Not Gonna Take It! (Pete Townshend) 08:42


Disc 2
1 Eminence Front (Pete Townshend) 05:41
2 Face The Face (Pete Townshend) 06:11
3 Dig (Pete Townshend) 03:58
4 I Can See For Miles (Pete Townshend) 03:44
5 A Little Is Enough (Pete Townshend) 05:06
6 0,21875 (Pete Townshend) 05:48
7 Love, Reign O’er Me (Pete Townshend) 05:57
8 Trick Of The Light (Pete Townshend) 05:40
9 Rough Boys (Pete Townshend) 04:34
10 Join Together (Pete Townshend) 05:12
11 You Better You Bet (Pete Townshend) 05:34
12 Behind Blue Eyes (Pete Townshend) 03:43
13 Won’t Get Fooled Again (Pete Townshend) 09:28


Bass John Entwistle
Drums Simon Phillips
Guitar Pete Townshend
Guitar Roger Daltrey
Acoustic Guitar Pete Townshend
Acoustic Guitar Roger Daltrey
Keyboards John Bundrick
Brass Simon Clarke
Brass Roddy Lorimer
Brass Tim Sanders
Brass Neil Sidwell
Percussion Jody Linscott
Percussion Roger Daltrey
Background Vocals Billy Nicholls
Background Vocals Cleveland Watkiss
Vocals Pete Townshend
Vocals Roger Daltrey
Vocals John Entwistle

Liner Notes

Producer – Billy Nicholls, Bob Clearmountain, Clive Franks
Coordinator – Michelle Gutenstein, Mike Maketansky, David Knight, Richard Kimball
Mastered By – Ian Cooper
Mixed By – Billy Nicholls, Bob Clearmountain, Clive Franks
Mixed By (Assistant) – Andy Bradfield
Music Director – Billy Nicholls
Recorded By – Bob Clearmountain, Biff Dawes

Design – Icon
Photography – Davies & Starr, Michael Putland, Neal Preston, Nelson Machin, Paul Natkin

Mastered At The Town House
Mixed At Olympic Studios
Mixed At The Town House
Recorded At Radio City Music Hall
Recorded At Universal Amphitheatre
Recorded By Effanel Music Mobile Truck
Recorded By Westwood One Mobile Truck
Phonographic Copyright Virgin Records Ltd
Copyright Virgin Records Ltd