1987 Sherrick – Sherrick

Sherrick is the debut and only studio album from American soul singer and musician Sherrick (Lamotte Smith), released by Warner Bros. in 1987. It was largely produced by Michael Stokes and Sherrick, except two tracks, one which was produced solely by Sherrick and another by Bobby Sandstrom and Steve Barri.


1  Tell Me What It Is (Sherrick) 03:53
Just Call (Ralph Hawkins; Sherrick) 04:13
3  Baby I’m For Real (Anna Gordy Gaye; Marvin Gaye) 04:22
4  This Must Be Love (Michael Stokes; Sherrick) 03:21
5  Do You Baby (Nick Johnson; Sherrick) 03:25
6  All Because Of You (Michael Stokes; Sherrick) 04:34
Let’s Be Lovers Tonight (Bobby Sandstrom; Michael Price; Steve Barri) 04:03
8  Lady You Are (Don Fletcher; Michael Stokes; Ray Singleton; Sherrick) 04:56
9  Send For Me (Sherrick) 03:53


BassNathan East
BassMichael Dunlap
BassCliff Liles
DrumsJames Gadson
DrumsCarmen Rizzo
Drums (programming)David Ervin
Drums (programming)William Bryant
Drums (programming)Dean Gant
Drums (programming)Laythan Armor
Drums (programming)Bobby Sandstrom
Drums (programming)Sherrick
GuitarDann Huff
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
GuitarRichard Howard
KeyboardsDavid Ervin
KeyboardsWilliam Bryant
KeyboardsDean Gant
KeyboardsLaythan Armor
KeyboardsJohn Barnes
KeyboardsBobby Sandstrom
KeyboardsJohn West
KeyboardsRalph Hawkins
KeyboardsChris Andrews
PianoDavid Ervin
PianoWilliam Bryant
PianoDean Gant
PianoLaythan Armor
PianoJohn Barnes
PianoBobby Sandstrom
PianoJohn West
PianoRalph Hawkins
PianoChris Andrews
Synthesizer David Ervin
Synthesizer William Bryant
Synthesizer Dean Gant
Synthesizer Laythan Armor
Synthesizer John Barnes
Synthesizer Bobby Sandstrom
Synthesizer John West
Synthesizer Ralph Hawkins
Synthesizer Chris Andrews
Synthesizer Sherrick
ProgrammingJohn Barnes
HornsThe Thugs
PercussionDavid Ervin
PercussionJohn Barnes
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsOren Waters
Background VocalsOma Drake
Background VocalsMona Lisa Young
Background VocalsMarva King

Other Musicians

2 Just Call

SaxGerald Albright

3 Baby I’m For Real

SaxGerald Albright

7 Let’s Be Lovers Tonight

SaxRichard Elliot

Liner Notes

Producer – Michael Stokes (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8)
Producer – Bobby Sandstrom, Steve Barri (Track 7)
Producer (Executive) – Benny Medina, Ray Singleton
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Michael Stokes, Sherrick
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Richard Elliot (Track 7)
Arranged By (Strings) – Gene Page, Sherrick
Arranged By (Vocals) – Sherrick
Engineer (Assistant) – Troy Kruger, Clark Germaine, Mitch Gibson, Bino Espinoza, Michael Dotson, Amy Ziffer, Carmen Rizzo, Steve James, Kevin Burns, Larry Mah, James Johnson, Charles Brown
Mastered By – Brian Gardner
Mixed By – Cal Harris, F Byron Clark, Tom Perry, Sherrick
Recorded By – Jack Rouben, Tom Perry, Cal Harris, Clark Germaine, Eric Zobler, Russ Terrana, Cecil Duke

Art Direction, Design – Kav Deluxe
Photography – Jeff Katz

Mixed At Hollywood Sound Recorders
Mixed At Motown/Hitsville USA Studios
Mixed At MaMa Jo’s Recording
Recorded At Hollywood Sound Recorders
Recorded At Oceanway Recording Studios
Recorded At Sound Castle
Recorded At Power Trax
Recorded At Monley Dust Recording Studios
Recorded At SNS Recording
Phonographic Copyright Warner Bros. Records Inc
Phonographic Copyright WEA International Inc
Copyright Warner Bros. Records Inc
Copyright WEA International Inc