1976 Blood, Sweat And Tears – More Than Ever

More Than Ever is the ninth album by the band Blood, Sweat & Tears, released in July 1976. This was the band’s ninth studio album and their last for Columbia Records. The album peaked at number 165 on the Billboard albums chart. It contained one charting single, “You’re the One” (US #106, AC #6).

The personnel changes in the band continued with Mike Stern replacing Georg Wadenius on electric guitar, Danny Trifan replacing Ron McClure on bass, and Forest Buchtell replacing Joe Giorgianni on trumpet. Percussionist Don Alias left the band, and Mike Corbett was added on background vocals. Famed bassist Jaco Pastorius, who had been discovered and signed to Epic Records by Bobby Colomby, was briefly in the band around this time but did not appear on the album.

More Than Ever was produced by Bob James who brought in such legendary session players as Steve Khan on guitar, Richard Tee on keyboards, Eric Gale on guitar, Hugh McCracken on guitar, and Eric Weissberg on banjo and dobro along with vocalist Patti Austin on background vocals to complement the regular BS&T lineup.

The album had an unusual cover design, simply presenting a photo of the vinyl record itself. The UK issue had a different sleeve: although the design was the same, the image differed as the centre label replicated the CBS Records one used in the UK which differed from the Colombia one used in the US.

More Than Ever was re-released on CD in 2003 on the Wounded Bird label along with Sony Music.


1  They (David Clayton-Thomas; William Smith) 06:28
2  I Love You More Than Ever (Allan Landon; Douglas Lenier) 05:30
3  Katy Bell (Stephen Foster) 04:30
4  Sweet Sadie The Savior (Patti Austin) 04:24
5  Hollywood (David Clayton-Thomas; William Smith) 03:37
6  You’re The One (David Clayton-Thomas; William Smith) 04:58
7  Heavy Blue (Larry Willis) 05:26
8  Saved By The Grace Of Your Love (David Palmer; David Clayton-Thomas) 04:18


BassDanny Trifan
BassGary King
GuitarMike Stern
CelesteBob James
ClavinetBob James
Electric PianoLarry Willis
Electric PianoBob James
PianoBob James
SynthesizerBob James
FluteBill Tillman
SaxBill Tillman
TromboneDave Bargeron
TrumpetForrest Buchtel
TrumpetTony Klatka
TubaDave Bargeron
PercussionDon Alias
Background VocalsFrank Floyd
Background VocalsGwen Guthrie
Background VocalsLani Groves
Background VocalsYolanda McCullough
Background VocalsVivian Cherry
Background VocalsWilliam Eaton
Background VocalsZachary Sanders
VocalsDavid Clayton-Thomas

Other Musicians

1 They

GuitarHugh McCracken
GuitarSteve Khan
TromboneDavid Taylor
TrumpetJon Faddis
TrumpetMarvin Stamm
MarimbaDavid Friedman
VibraphoneDavid Friedman

2 I Love You More Than Ever

GuitarEric Gale
GuitarHugh McCracken
OboeSidney Weinberg
Background VocalsPatti Austin

3 Katy Bell

GuitarHugh McCracken
GuitarSteve Khan
BanjoEric Weissberg

4 Sweet Sadie The Savior

GuitarEric Gale
GuitarSteve Khan
TromboneDavid Taylor
TrumpetJon Faddis
TrumpetMarvin Stamm
Background VocalsPatti Austin

5 Hollywood

GuitarHugh McCracken
GuitarSteve Khan
DobroEric Weissberg
TromboneDavid Taylor
TrumpetJon Faddis
TrumpetMarvin Stamm

6 You’re The One

GuitarSteve Khan
GuitarHugh McCracken
Acoustic GuitarHugh McCracken
SaxArnie Lawrence

7 Heavy Blue

GuitarHugh McCracken
Electric PianoLarry Willis

8 Saved By The Grace Of Your Love

GuitarEric Gale
GuitarHugh McCracken
PianoRichard Tee


Strings – Charles McCracken, David Nadien, Emanuel Vardi, Harry Cykman, Harry Glickman, Harry Lookofsky, Matthew Raimondi, Max Ellen, Max Pollikoff, Richard Sortomme, Seymour Barab, Theodore Israel

Liner Notes

Producer – Bob James
Producer (Associate) – Bobby Colomby
Arranged By – Bob James
Arranged By (Horns) – Larry Willis (Tracks 7, 8)
Engineer – Dave Palmer, Frank Laico

Mixed At Camp Colomby
Recorded At Camp Colomby
Recorded At Columbia 30th Street Studio
Phonographic Copyright CBS Inc
Copyright CBS Inc