1973 Sammy Johns – Sammy Johns

Sammy Johns is the first studio album by singer and songwriter Sammy Johns. The album featured Johns’ most successful single, “Chevy Van,” which did not become a hit until two years after this album’s release.


1  Early Morning Love (Sammy Johns) 02:46
Chevy Van (Sammy Johns) 02:57
3  Jenny (Sherman Hayes) 02:47
4  Rag Doll (Steve Eaton) 03:19
5  Hang My Head And Moan (Sammy Johns) 03:05
6  Friends Of Mine (Sammy Johns) 03:34
7  America (Sammy Johns) 03:28
8  Holy Mother, Aging Father (Sammy Johns) 03:04
9  We Will Shine (Mylon LeFevre) 02:44
10  Way Out Jesus (Sammy Johns) 02:25


BassChuck Rainey
BassLarry Knechtel
DrumsJim Gordon
GuitarArt Munson
GuitarDean Parks
GuitarJames Burton
GuitarLarry Knechtel
Acoustic GuitarSammy Johns
Steel GuitarBuddy Emmons
KeyboardsLarry Knechtel
KeyboardsMike Melvoin
HornsChuck Findley
HornsJim Horn
HornsJohn Kelson
PercussionJim Gordon
Background VocalsHerb Pedersen
Background VocalsMylon LeFevre
Background VocalsBlackberries
VocalsSammy Johns

Liner Notes

Producer – Jay Senter, Larry Knechtel
Producer – Jefferson Lee (Track 1)
Arranged By – Larry Knechtel
Arranged By (Horns) – Jim Horn
Arranged By (Strings) – Pete Carpenter
Engineer – Buck Herring
Engineer – Glenn Meadows, Milan Bogdan (Track 1)
Engineer – Gary Brandt (Track 6)
Engineer (Remix) – Milan Bogdan
Mastered By – Milan Bogdan

Design, Illustration – James Flournoy Holmes

Mastered At The Sound Pit, Atlanta, GA
Recorded At The Sound Pit, Atlanta, GA
Phonographic Copyright General Recording Corporation