1990 Ian Gillan – Naked Thunder

Naked Thunder is a 1990 solo album by Ian Gillan, released soon after his departure from Deep Purple in 1989. It features a varied selection of songs, with one of Gillan’s most passionate and impressive performances on power ballad “Loving on Borrowed Time” and traditional field lament “No More Cane on the Brazos”. It was also the first album to feature Ian Gillan’s long time writing partner Steve Morris. Naked Thunder was produced by Leif Mases and features a number of notable guest musicians, including drummer Simon Phillips and former Grease Band keyboard player Tommy Eyre.

The album was available only as an import in the USA until 1997 when it was re-released for American market by Eagle.

Naked Thunder was followed by a lengthy tour and a live video Ian Gillan Live released the same year (rereleased on DVD in 2001). In 2006 Ian Gillan re-recorded “Long on Borrowed Time” for the Gillan’s Inn album. In November 2016 he performed “No More Cane on the Brazos” during the tour of Eastern Europe with orchestra and Don Airey Band. It was the first time he has performed the song in twenty-five years.


1  Gut Reaction (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris) 03:44
2  Talking To You (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris) 03:37
3  No Good Luck (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris) 04:08
4  Nothing But The Best (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris) 03:42
5  Loving On Borrowed Time (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris) 05:02
6  Sweet Lolita (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris) 03:48
7  Nothing To Lose (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris) 06:13
8  Moonshine (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris; Mark Buckle) 02:43
9  Long And Lonely Ride (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris) 03:45
10  Love Gun (Ian Gillan; Steve Morris) 03:27
11  No More Cane On The Brazos (Traditional) 08:13


BassSteve Morris
DrumsSimon Phillips
GuitarSteve Morris
KeyboardsSteve Morris
OrganTommy Eyre
PianoPeter Robinson
SynthesizerTommy Eyre
SynthesizerPeter Robinson
HornsThe A Team
SaxAlbie Donnelly
Background VocalsCarol Kenyon
Background VocalsDavid Lloyd
Background VocalsHarry Shaw
Background VocalsJon Gustafson
VocalsIan Gillan

Other Musicians

11 No More Cane On The Brazos

BassRoger Glover

Liner Notes

Producer – Leif Mases
Arranged By – Ian Gillan, Leif Mases, Roger Glover, Steve Morris, Tommy Eyre (Track 11)
Engineer (Mixing) – Al Stone
Engineer (Recording) – Keith Andrews

Artwork, Design – Stylorouge
Photography – Simon Fowler

Mastered At The Town House
Mixed At Duncansby Crescent
Mixed At Woodcray Studios
Mixed At Amazon Studios
Mixed At Olympic Studios
Recorded At Duncansby Crescent
Recorded At Woodcray Studios
Recorded At Amazon Studios
Recorded At Olympic Studios
Phonographic Copyright TELDEC Record Service GmbH
Copyright TELDEC Record Service GmbH