1978 Al Stewart – Time Passages

Time Passages is the eighth studio album by Al Stewart, released in September 1978. It is the follow-up to his 1976 album Year of the Cat. The album, like 1975’s Modern Times and 1976’s Year of the Cat, was once again produced by Alan Parsons. The album’s title track (which, when edited, reached #7 on the Billboard charts) and “End Of The Day” were both co-written by Peter White. The title track also reached #1 on the Billboard Adult Contemporary charts for 10 weeks.


1  Time Passages (Al Stewart; Peter White) 06:43
2  Valentina Way (Al Stewart) 03:59
3  Life In Dark Water (Al Stewart) 05:49
4  A Man For All Seasons (Al Stewart) 05:50
5  Almost Lucy (Al Stewart) 03:41
6  Palace Of Versailles (Al Stewart) 05:23
7  Timeless Skies (Al Stewart) 03:36
8  Song On The Radio (Al Stewart) 06:19
9  End Of The Day (Al Stewart; Peter White) 03:11


BassRobin Lamble
DrumsStuart Elliott
GuitarAl Stewart
Steel GuitarAl Perkins
KeyboardsPeter Wood
KeyboardsPeter White
AccordionPeter White
SaxPhil Kenzie
CongasLindsay Elliott
Background VocalsBrian Huddy
Background VocalsDavid Pack
Background VocalsJames Robert West
Background VocalsJeff Borgeson
Background VocalsJoe Puerta
Background VocalsKrysia Kristianne
VocalsAl Stewart

Other Musicians

1 Time Passages

GuitarPeter White

2 Valentina Way

DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
GuitarPeter White
GuitarMark Goldenberg
OrganPeter Robinson
PianoPeter Robinson

4 A Man For All Seasons

GuitarTim Renwick

5 Almost Lucy

GuitarTim Renwick

6 Palace Of Versailles

GuitarTim Renwick
SynthesizerPeter Solley

9 End Of The Day

GuitarPeter White

Liner Notes

Producer – Alan Parsons
Producer (Executive) – Luke O’Reilly
Arranged By (Strings) – Andrew Powell
Engineer (Assistant) – Chris Blair, Chris Desmond, Pat Stapley
Mastered By – Allen Zentz

Design, Photography – Hipgnosis

Recorded At Davlen Sound Studios
Phonographic Copyright Arista Records
Copyright Arista Records