1973 Percy Faith – Clair

Clair is an album by Percy Faith, released in 1973 on Columbia.

Percy Faith (April 7, 1908 – February 9, 1976) was a Canadian bandleader, orchestrator, composer and conductor, known for his lush arrangements of pop and Christmas standards. He is often credited with popularizing the “easy listening” or “mood music” format. He became a staple of American popular music in the 1950s and continued well into the 1960s. Though his professional orchestra-leading career began at the height of the Swing Era, he refined and rethought orchestration techniques, including use of large string sections, to soften and fill out the brass-dominated popular music of the 1940s.


1  Clair (Gilbert O’Sullivan) 02:57
2  Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight (James Taylor) 04:01
3  Ben (Donald Black; Walter Scharf) 02:59
4  Sweet Surrender (David Gates) 03:22
5  I Can See Clearly Now (Johnny Nash) 02:56
6  2001 (Also Sprach Zarathustra) (Richard Strauss) 05:38
7  Nights In White Satin (Justin Hayward) 03:43
8  Summer Breeze (Dash Crofts; Jim Seals) 04:24
9  Superfly (Curtis Mayfield) 04:35
10  Happy (Love Theme From “Lady Sings The Blues”) (Michel LeGrand) 02:59
11  We Were Havin’ Some Fun At The Conservatory, When… (Percy Faith) 02:34
12  Dueling Banjos (Arthur Smith; Eric Weissberg) 01:38


DrumsEarl Palmer
GuitarJoe Pass
BanjoLarry McNeely
KeyboardsClark Gassman
PianoMike Lang
PianoRalph Grierson
SaxPlas Johnson
TrumpetBuddy Childers
PercussionKing Errisson

Liner Notes

Producer – Ted Glasser
Adapted By – Percy Faith (Track 6)
Arranged By – Percy Faith
Arranged By – Eric Weissberg (Track 12)
Conductor – Percy Faith
Engineer – Ray Gerhardt

Design – Nancy Donald
Photography – Saint-Jivago Desanges

Recorded At A&M Studios