1985 Pete Townshend – White City: A Novel

White City: A Novel is the fourth solo studio album by English rock musician Pete Townshend, released on 11 November 1985 by Atco Records. The album was produced by Chris Thomas (who had also produced Townshend’s previous two albums, Empty Glass and All the Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes) and it was recorded by Bill Price at three separate recording studios in London, England: both of the Eel Pie studios, and A.I.R..

The album peaked at No. 70 on the UK Albums Chart, and at No. 26 on the US Billboard 200. The album also reached the Top 20 in five other countries, Australia, Germany, New Zealand, Sweden and Switzerland.


1  Give Blood (Pete Townshend) 05:46
2  Brilliant Blues (Pete Townshend) 03:06
Face The Face (Pete Townshend) 05:54
4  Hiding Out (Pete Townshend) 03:01
5  Secondhand Love (Pete Townshend) 04:13
6  Crashing By Design (Pete Townshend) 03:17
7  I Am Secure (Pete Townshend) 04:00
8  White City Fighting (David Gilmour; Pete Townshend) 04:40
9  Come To Mama (Pete Townshend) 04:42
10  Night School (Pete Townshend) 03:23
11  Save It For Later (Roger Charlery; Andy Cox; Everett Morton; David Steele; Dave Wakeling) 04:58
12  Hiding Out (12 Mix) (Pete Townshend) 05:50


BassTony Butler
BassPhil Chen
BassChucho Merchan
BassPino Palladino
BassSteve Barnacle
DrumsMark Brzezicki
DrumsSimon Phillips
DrumsClem Burke
GuitarPete Townshend
KeyboardsJohn Bundrick
HarmonicaPeter Hope Evans
HornsSimon Clarke
HornsRoddy Lorimer
HornsTim Sanders
HornsPeter Thoms
Background VocalsEmma Townshend
Background VocalsJackie Challenor
Background VocalsMae McKenna
Background VocalsLorenza Johnson
VocalsPete Townshend

Other Musicians

1 Give Blood

GuitarDavid Gilmour

3 Face The Face

DrumsSimon Phillips

8 White City Fighting

GuitarDavid Gilmour

10 Night School

Background VocalsJustine Frischman

Liner Notes

Producer – Chris Thomas
Arranged By (Horns) – The Kick Horns
Engineer (Assistant) – Chris Ludwinski, Dave Edwards, Jules Bowen
Mastered By – Tim Young
Recorded By – Bill Price

Design, Art Direction – Richard Evans
Photography – Alex Henderson, Malcolm Heywood, Richard Evans

Mastered At CBS Studios, London
Mastered At Specialty Records Corporation
Recorded At Eel Pie Studios
Recorded At Eel Pie Studio, Soho, London
Recorded At Air Studios
Phonographic Copyright Eel Pie Recording Productions Ltd
Copyright Eel Pie Recording Productions Ltd