1956 Mel Tormé – Mel Tormé Sings Fred Astaire

Mel Tormé Sings Fred Astaire is a 1956 album by Mel Tormé, recorded in tribute to Fred Astaire. This was Tormé’s second recording with Marty Paich and his Dek-Tette.


1  Nice Work If You Can Get It (George Gershwin; Ira Gershwin) 03:09
2  Something’s Gotta Give (Johnny Mercer) 03:56
3  A Foggy Day (George Gershwin; Ira Gershwin) 02:44
4  A Fine Romance (Dorothy Fields; Jerome Kern) 03:05
5  Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off (George Gershwin; Ira Gershwin) 03:30
6  Top Hat, White Tie And Tails (Irving Berlin) 03:09
7  The Way You Look Tonight (Dorothy Fields; Jerome Kern) 02:26
8  The Piccolino (Irving Berlin) 02:39
9  They Can’t Take That Away From Me (George Gershwin; Ira Gershwin) 03:02
10  Cheek To Cheek (Irving Berlin) 03:02
11  Let’s Face The Music And Dance (Irving Berlin) 02:18
12  They All Laughed (George Gershwin; Ira Gershwin) 02:33


BassMax Bennett
DrumsAlvin Stoller
PianoMarty Paich
French HornVince DeRosa
SaxJack DuLlong
SaxHerb Geller
SaxJack Montrose
TromboneBob Enevoldsen
TrumpetDon Fagerquist
TrumpetPete Candoli
TubaAlbert Pollan
VocalsMel Tormé

Liner Notes

Arranged By – Marty Paich

Recorded Los Angeles, November, 1956