1979 Scherrie & Susaye – Partners

Partners is a 1979 album by Scherrie & Susaye released on Motown Records. Following the disbanding of The Supremes in 1977, former group members Scherrie Payne and Susaye Greene recorded the album, sharing songwriting, arranging and production duties. Legendary performer Ray Charles features on “Love Bug” whilst Joyce Vincent Wilson (formerly of Tony Orlando and Dawn) is featured on background vocals.


1  Storybook Romance (Scherrie Payne) 05:02
2  Your Sweet Love (Susaye Greene Brown) 04:12
3  Luvbug (Susaye Greene Brown) 03:29
4  Leaving Me Was The Best Thing You’ve Ever Done (Scherrie Payne) 05:31
5  When The Day Comes Every Night (Susaye Greene Brown) 02:22
6  In The Night (Ed Brown; Susaye Greene Brown) 06:03
7  I Found Another Love (Scherrie Payne; Susaye Greene Brown) 03:08
8  You’ve Been Good To Me (Scherrie Payne) 03:58
9  Another Life From Now (Scherrie Payne) 05:47


BassAbraham Laboriel Sr
DrumsSteve Schaeffer
GuitarAlan Silvestri
GuitarJeff Mironov
ClavinetOdell Brown
Electric PianoLeon Pendarvis
Electric PianoRandy Waldman
KeyboardsOdell Brown
PianoLeon Pendarvis
PianoRandy Waldman
PianoOdell Brown
SynthesizerCraig Hundley
SynthesizerOdell Brown
FlugelhornGary Grant
FlugelhornJerry Hey
FluteLarry Williams
SaxKim Hutchcroft
SaxGary Herbig
SaxLarry Williams
TromboneBill Reichenbach
TrumpetGary Grant
TrumpetJerry Hey
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsCarmen Twillie
Background VocalsAllen Green III
Background VocalsBill Champlin
Background VocalsEugene McDaniels
Background VocalsJim Gilstrap
Background VocalsJoyce Vincent
Background VocalsKathy Collier
Background VocalsRoy Galloway
Background VocalsEd Brown
VocalsScherrie Payne
VocalsSusaye Greene Brown

Other Musicians

2 Your Sweet Love

BassEd Brown
GuitarMarlo Henderson

3 Luvbug

BassEd Brown
VoiceRay Charles

5 When The Day Comes Every Night

PianoSusaye Greene Brown

6 In The Night

BassEd Brown
VocalsEugene McDaniels

9 Another Life From Now

VocalsEugene McDaniels

Liner Notes

Producer – Eugene McDaniels
Producer (Executive) – Suzanne de Passe Le Mat
Co-producer – Ed Brown, Scherrie Payne, Susaye Greene-Brown
Arranged By – Alan Silvestri (Tracks 1, 4, 8)
Arranged By – Leon Pendarvis (Tracks 2, 7)
Arranged By – Odell Brown (Tracks 3, 6)
Arranged By – Jeremy Lubbock (Tracks 5, 9)
Arranged By (Horns) – Bill Reichenbach (Track 2)
Arranged By (Horns) – Larry Williams (Tracks 6, 7)
Concertmaster – Gerald Vinci, Wilbert Nuttycombe
Coordinator – Cyndi James-Reese
Coordinator (Assistant) – Lori Nadlman
Mastered By – John Matousek, Russ Terrana
Mixed By – Milt Calice, Russ Terrana
Recorded By – Milt Calice

Art Direction – John Cabalka
Calligraphy – Vigon Nahas Vigon
Design – Ginny Livingston
Photography – Claude Mougin

Mastered At Motown Recording Studios
Mixed At Motown Recording Studios
Recorded At Jennifudy Studios
Recorded At Soundcastle
Phonographic Copyright Motown Record Corporation
Copyright Motown Record Corporation