1974 Moacir Santos – Saudade

Saudade is an album by Brazilian composer Moacir Santos recorded in 1974 and released on the Blue Note label.

Moacir Santos (26 July 1926 – 6 August 2006) was a Brazilian composer, multi-instrumentalist and music educator. Musicians such as Baden Powell, Bola Sete and Wilson das Neves studied under him. As a composer, Santos worked with Nara Leão, Roberto Menescal, Sérgio Mendes and Lynda Laurence, among others. His music was highly respected by musicians in Brazil and the United States, despite never achieving wider recognition.


1  Early Morning Love (Moacir Santos; Yanna Cotti) 03:25
2  A Saudade Mate A Gente (Antonio Almeida; Joao De Barro) 06:10
3  Off And On (Moacir Santos; Yanna Cotti) 03:37
4  The City Of LA (Mark Levine) 03:38
5  Suk Cha (Moacir Santos) 04:07
6  Kathy (Ray Evans; Jay Livingston; Moacir Santos) 03:37
7  Happy-Happy (Moacir Santos; Petsye Powell) 02:59
8  Amphibious (Moacir Santos; Assis) 03:25
9  This Life (Moacir Santos; Yanna Cotti) 02:33
10  What’s My Name (Jay Livingston; Ray Evans; Moacir Santos) 03:07


BassJohn Heard
DrumsHarvey Mason Sr
GuitarLee Ritenour
Acoustic GuitarLee Ritenour
Electric PianoMark Levine
PianoMark Levine
BassoonRay Pizzi
FlugelhornSteve Huffsteter
FluteRay Pizzi
FluteJerome Richardson
French HornSidney Muldrow
SaxMoacir Santos
SaxRay Pizzi
SaxJerome Richardson
TromboneBenny Powell
TrumpetSteve Huffsteter
PercussionCarmelo Garcia
PercussionMayuto Correa

Other Musicians

1 Early Morning Love

VocalsDonald Alves
VocalsMichael Campbell
VocalsPetsye Powell

2 A Saudade Mate A Gente

VocalsCarmen Saveiros
VocalsMichael Campbell
VocalsPetsye Powell

3 Off And On

VocalsDonald Alves
VocalsMichael Campbell
VocalsPetsye Powell

6 Kathy

VocalsDonald Alves
VocalsMichael Campbell
VocalsPetsye Powell

7 Happy-Happy

VocalsDonald Alves
VocalsJose Marino
VocalsMichael Campbell
VocalsPetsye Powell
VocalsRegina Werneck

9 This Life

VocalsDonald Alves
VocalsMichael Campbell
VocalsPetsye Powell

10 What’s My Name

VocalsDonald Alves

Liner Notes

Producer – Duke Pearson
Producer (Executive) – George Butler
Arranged By – Moacir Santos
Conductor – Moacir Santos
Engineer – Christina Hersch
Engineer (Mastering) – Al Brown
Engineer (Remix) – Don Hahn

Art Direction – Bob Cato
Design – Ria Lewerke
Photography – Sally Hanson

Mastered At A&R Studios
Recorded At United Artists Recording Studio
Remixed At A&R Studios
Copyright Blue Note