1985 Kimiko Kasai – Watching You

Watching You is Kimiko Kasai‘s 20th album, released in 1985 on CBS/Sony.

Kimiko Kasai (born December 15, 1945 in Kyoto, Japan) is a retired Japanese jazz singer. Kimiko’s first album as a solo artist was entitled Just Friends in 1970. In the following year, Kimiko sang the advertising jingle of “Cup Noodles,” a brand of the world’s first instant cup noodle ramen. In June 1972, she signed on an exclusive contract with CBS/Sony, and recorded Satin Doll with support of Gil Evans during Evans’ first visitation to Japan. Later she recorded many albums in collaboration with musicians in the jazz field, such as Teo Macero, Lee Konitz, Stan Getz, Paulinho Da Costa, Billy Higgins Cedar Walton and Herbie Hancock.


1  Watching You (Kimiko Kasai; Larry Williams) 03:52
2  Very Special Moment (Dan Kuramoto; Yutaka Yokokura) 04:00
3  Killing Me Softly with His Song (Norman Gimbel; Charles Fox) 04:15
4  The Way We Were (Marilyn Bergman; Alan Bergman; Marvin Hamlish) 02:49
5  We Can Fall in Love (Kimiko Kasai) 04:07
6  Steppin’ Outside Tonight (Doug Rudolph; Richard Rudolph) 04:27
7  Looking for Love (Roy Carter) 04:54
8  This Masquerade (Leon Russell) 04:47
9  Everything Must Change (Bernard Ighner) 04:32


BassNeil Stubenhaus
BassDennis Belfield
DrumsJR Robinson
DrumsCarlos Vega
GuitarDann Huff
KeyboardsLarry Williams
SynthesizerLarry Williams
PercussionLenny Castro
VocalsKimiko Kasai

Liner Notes

Arranged By – Larry Williams