1983 Chet Atkins – East Tennessee Christmas

East Tennessee Christmas is the fifty-first studio album and the second Christmas album by guitarist Chet Atkins, issued by Columbia Records in 1983.

Atkins had recorded a Christmas with Chet Atkins previously for RCA Victor 22 years earlier. He covers some of the same territory in this release but with a smoother production.


1  Jingle Bell Rock (Jim Boothe; Joe Beal) 02:04
2  White Christmas (Irving Berlin) 02:43
3  Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow (Jule Styne; Sammy Cahn) 02:44
4  Winter Wonderland (Dick Smith; Felix Bernard) 03:09
5  The Christmas Song (Mel Tormé; Robert Wells) 03:12
6  I’ll Be Home For Christmas (Buck Ram; Kim Gannon; Walter Kent) 03:19
7  East Tennessee Christmas (Chet Atkins; John Knowles) 02:45
8  Do You Hear What I Hear? (Gloria Shayne; Noel Regney) 03:23
9  The Little Drummer Boy (Harry Simeone; Henry Onorati; Katherine Davis) 03:08
10  God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (Chet Atkins) 01:19
11  Silent Night (Chet Atkins) 02:00
12  Away In A Manger (Chet Atkins) 02:02


DrumsDavid Lawbaugh
DrumsLarrie Londin
DrumsChet Atkins
GuitarChet Atkins
GuitarPaul Yandell
KeyboardsDavid Briggs
KeyboardsTony Migliore
KeyboardsRandy Goodrum
KeyboardsBergen White
PercussionFarrell Morris
VocalsRandy Goodrum
VocalsDiane Tidwell
VocalsDonna McElroy
VocalsHurshel Wiginton
VocalsLisa Silver
VocalsSteve Wariner
VocalsBergen White

Other Musicians

Strings – Nashville String Machine

Liner Notes

Producer – Chet Atkins
Engineer (Mastering) – Glenn Meadows
Engineer (Recording) – Mike Poston, Rich Horton

Art Direction – Bill Johnson
Illustration – Barry Buxkamper

Mastered At Masterfonics
Recorded At C.A. Workshop
Recorded At Sound Emporium
Phonographic Copyright Columbia
Copyright Columbia