1989 Minoru Niihara – One

One is the first solo album by Minoru Niihara. It was released in 1989.

Minoru Niihara (March 12, 1960 in Osaka, Japan) is the original and current lead singer of the Japanese heavy metal band, Loudness.

His first band was Earthshaker, in which he played bass and sang. His vocal style was influenced by blues singers, but he adapted quickly his voice to the high pitch tones requested in a heavy metal act. He was selected after an audition to become the lead singer of Loudness in 1981 and his voice, together with the flashy guitar work of guitarist Akira Takasaki were recognized as a trademark of the band. Although the first three albums were sung using mostly Japanese lyrics, he started singing in English only on their 1984 album, Disillusion.


1  Overture Let’s Get Together (Minoru Niihara) 06:40
2  Stand Up To The Danger (Minoru Niihara; Yukihiro Fujimura) 03:29
3  Come Over Me (Minoru Niihara) 05:15
4  I Can’t Wait (Minoru Niihara) 04:30
5  Dynamite (Minoru Niihara) 04:49
6  You Can Do It (Minoru Niihara) 04:14
7  Bluest Sky (Minoru Niihara) 03:20
8  Stayin’ Alive (Minoru Niihara) 03:06
9  Fool For You (Minoru Niihara) 05:14
10  Too Long Away To Reach (Minoru Niihara; Yasumitsu Shimizu) 05:02
11  I’ll Never Hide My Love Again (Minoru Niihara; Marc Ferrari) 05:37


Bass John Pierce
Bass Ross Valory
Drums John M Keane
Drums Steve Smith
Guitar Mike Landau
Guitar Reb Beach
Guitar Doug Aldrich
Guitar Yukihiro Fujimara
Guitar Junshi Yamagishi
Keyboards Tom Keane
Horns Tower of Power
Guitar Kal Swan
Background Vocals David Glenn Eisley
Background Vocals Mark Slaughter
Background Vocals Maxine Willard Waters
Background Vocals Julia Tillman Waters
Vocals Minoru Niihara

Liner Notes

Arranged By – Tom Keane (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9 , 10, 11)
Arranged By – Minoru Niihara, Yukihiro Fujimura (Track 7)
Arranged By (Horns) – Tower Of Power (Tracks 5, 9)
Arranged By (Strings) – Hiroaki Matsuzawa, Minoru Niihara (Track 4)
Arranged By (Strings) – Toshio Egawa (Track 6)
Arranged By (Strings) – Yuito Yoshida (Track 8)
Arranged By (Strings) – Yasumitsu Shimizu (Track 10)