1984 Toronto & Holly Woods – Assault & Flattery

Assault & Flattery is Toronto‘s sixth and final album, released in 1984. The album features only two original band members, Anne “Holly” Woods and Scott Kreyer. Released as “Holly Woods & Toronto” which hints at Holly’s increasing control and autonomy in the band at this time. The album was produced by Mike Flicker who produced five albums for Heart – the band Toronto are most often compared to. The CD release includes the bonus track “Where Are We Now?” – which was also performed by Holly herself, as a solo artist, on her CD Live It Up!.


1  New Romance (Holly Knight; Anton Fig) 03:39
2  Kerry Anne (Holly Woods; Scott Kreyer; Mike Gingrich) 04:40
3  Sometimes Change (Holly Woods; Scott Kreyer) 04:08
4  Look What’s Showing Through (Eddie Schwartz) 04:37
5  Bang Your Head (Holly Woods; Scott Kreyer; Mike Gingrich; Jeff Gilhart) 03:42
6  Desperation (Holly Woods; Scott Kreyer; Paul Hanna; Daryl Alvaro; Mike Gingrich) 04:57
7  Assault & Flattery (Holly Woods; Scott Kreyer; Tim McCauley; Mike Gingrich) 03:37
8  Cats & Dogs (Stealin’) (Holly Woods; Scott Kreyer; Mike Gingrich) 03:27
9  No More Cliches (Holly Woods; Brian MacLeod) 04:23
10  Where Are We Now 04:56


BassMike Gingrich
DrumsPaul Hanna
GuitarMarty Walsh
GuitarDaryl Alvaro
KeyboardsScott Kreyer
SaxPhil Kenzie
PercussionLenny Castro
Background VocalsCece Bullard
Background VocalsJohn Coury
Background VocalsLiz Lauzanne
Background VocalsNick Cerro
VocalsHolly Woods

Other Musicians

8 Cats & Dogs (Stealin’)

VocalsDarby Mills

Liner Notes

Producer – Holly Woods, Mike Flicker, Scott Kreyer, Tim McCauley
Engineer (Assistant) – Michael Baskerville, Rolf Hennemann
Mixed By – BTony Bongiovi
Mixed By – Brian MacLeod (Tracks 8, 9)
Remastered By – Carl Dixon

Art Direction – James O’Mara

Recorded At Eastern Sound
Remastered At The Lacquer Channel
Copyright Solid Gold Records