1983 Lynn Anderson – Back

Back is the name of a 1983 studio album by country music singer Lynn Anderson.

The album marked Anderson’s return – as the title implied – after a three year hiatus to start a family with her second husband, Harold “Spook” Stream, and to raise her three children (one from a previous marriage and two with Stream). Anderson and Stream divorced in 1982, prompting her to return to her music career in 1983.

Anderson had left her previous record company, Columbia Records, when she “retired” in 1980. She signed with Permian Records, and worked with producer Michael Clark, to make the Back album.

Three singles were released from this album, all in 1983. The first, “You Can’t Lose What You Never Had”, just missed the Billboard Country Top 40 at No. 42. The next single, “What I Learned from Loving You”, peaked at No. 18 on the Billboard country charts. The third and final single, “You’re Welcome to Tonight”, was a duet with 1980s country star Gary Morris and the album’s most successful single, peaking at No. 9 on in early 1984.

The album reached No. 61 on the Top Country Albums chart in 1983.


1  You Can’t Lose (What You Never Had) (Chris Waters; Michael Garvin; Tom Shapiro) 02:12
2  Love Comes Around Again (Alan Rhody; Jay Patten; Jeanette Nancy Head) 02:50
3  What I Learned From Loving You (James Brown Jr; Russell Smith) 03:43
4  Your Kisses Lied (Jennifer Kimball) 02:46
5  At This Moment (Billy Vera) 03:42
6  Fool For Love (Adam Mitchell) 02:16
7  Heartbreak Kid (Michael Clark) 04:09
8  This Time The Heartbreak Wins (Pat McManus; Woody Bomar) 03:32
9  Mr. Sundown (John Bettis; Michael Clark) 03:38
10  You’re Welcome To Tonight (Grant Boatwright; Jim Hurt; Larry Henley) 03:50


BassLarry Paxton
DrumsClyde Brooks
GuitarDann Huff
GuitarBruce Dees
GuitarChip Young
GuitarDon Roth
GuitarDoyle Grisham
GuitarMark Casstevens
GuitarMichael Clark
GuitarMichael Spriggs
Steel GuitarSonny Garrish
Steel GuitarWeldon Myrick
KeyboardsBuddy Skipper
KeyboardsMitch Humphries
SynthesizerMichael Clark
HarmonicaTerry McMillan
Background VocalsBruce Dees
Background VocalsMarsha Wood
Background VocalsSteve Brantley
VocalsLynn Anderson

Liner Notes

Producer – Michael Clark
Arranged By – Michael Clark
Creative Director – Joe Petrone
Engineer – Willie Pevear
Engineer (Second) – Chip Young, Craig Currier

Design – Michale Guzman

Recorded At Quadrafonic Sound Studios
Phonographic Copyright Permian Records Inc
Copyright Permian Records Inc