1979 The Manhattan Transfer – Extensions

The Manhattan Transfer 1979Extensions was released by The Manhattan Transfer (Alan Paul, Cheryl Bentyne, Janis Siegel and Tim Hauser) on October 31, 1979, on the Atlantic Records label.

This album began a new era for the group: This album was the first one with Cheryl Bentyne, who replaced Laurel Massé. It was also the first album that contained songs that were hits in both the jazz and pop categories. The disco hit song “Twilight Zone/Twilight Tone” reached #12 on Billboard’s Disco chart, and on the Hot 100 reached #30. “Trickle, Trickle” reached #73 on the Billboard Magazine’s Hot 100 chart. Overall, the album reached #55 on the Billboard Magazine Top LP’s chart.

The most widely known song from this album, Joe Zawinul’s “Birdland,” won the group its first Grammy Award for Best Jazz Fusion Performance, Vocal or Instrumental in 1981.Jon Hendricks wrote lyrics for the vocal version on the album and Janis Siegel received a Grammy for her vocal arrangement of “Birdland”. Eddie Jefferson was writing the new lyrics for the song “Birdland”, but he was killed before finishing them. This album is dedicated to him. “Birdland” was the most played Jazz track in 1980and many regard “Birdland” as the “signature song” of the group.


1  Birdland (Joe Zawinul, Jon Hendricks) 6:02
2  Wacky Dust (Oscar Levant, Stanley Adams) 3:09
3  Nothin’ You Can Do About It (David Foster, Jay Graydon, Steve Kipner) 4:29
4  Coo Coo U (Bill Loughborough) 2:15
5  Body And Soul (Edward Heyman, Frank Eyton, Johnny Green, Robert Sour) 4:29
Twilight Zone/Twilight Tone (Bernard Herrmann, Jay Graydon) 3:55
Trickle Trickle (Clarence Bassett) 2:20
8  Shaker Song (Allee Willis, David Lasley, Jay Beckenstein) 4:27
9  Foreign Affair (Tom Waits) 3:55


1 Birdland

Bass David Hungate
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Drums Ralph Humphrey
Piano Michael Omartian
Synthesizer Michael Boddicker
Sax Richie Cole

2 Wacky Dust

Bass David Hungate
Drums Ralph Humphrey
Guitar Jimmy Wyble
Piano Greg Mathieson
Synthesizer Greg Mathieson
Programming Michael Boddicker

3 Nothin’ You Can Do About It

Bass David Hungate
Drums Ralph Humphrey
Guitar Jay Graydon
Piano David Foster
Synthesizer (solo) Greg Mathieson
Synthesizer Jay Graydon
Synthesizer David Foster
Synthesizer Ian Underwood

4 Coo Coo U

Synthesizer Michael Boddicker
Vocoder Michael Boddicker

5 Body And Soul

Bass Chuck Domanico
Drums Ralph Humphrey
Piano Bill Mays

6 Twilight Zone/Twilight Tone

Bass David Hungate
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar (solo) Jay Graydon
Guitar Steve Lukather
Piano Jai Winding
Synthesizer Michael Boddicker
Flute Don Roberts
Percussion Jeffrey Porcaro
Background Vocals Jay Graydon

7 Trickle Trickle

Bass Abraham Laboriel Sr
Drums Ralph Humphrey
Guitar Dean Parks
Guitar Jay Graydon
Piano Michael Omartian
Sax Don Roberts
Congas Paulinho Da Costa

8 Shaker Song

Bass Andy Muson
Drums Alex Acuna
Guitar Dean Parks
Guitar Jay Graydon
Strings (synthesizer) David Foster
Programming Jay Graydon
Percussion Paulinho Da Costa
Fender Rhodes Greg Mathieson
Piano Greg Mathieson
Sax Richie Cole

Liner Notes

Producer – Jay Graydon
Arranged By – David Foster (Track 3)
Arranged By – Jay Graydon (Tracks 3, 6, 7)
Arranged By – Greg Mathieson (Tracks 4, 8)
Arranged By – Tim Hauser (Track 4)
Arranged By – Phil Mattson (Track 5)
Arranged By – Alan Paul (Track 6)
Arranged By – The Manhattan Transfer (Track 7)
Arranged By – Gene Puerling (Track 9)
Arranged By (Rhythm Arranged By) – Michael Omartian (Track 1)
Arranged By (Rhythm Arranged By) – Greg Mathieson (Track 2)
Arranged By (Vocal Arranged By) – Janis Siegel (Tracks 1, 2, 8)
Arranged By Jay Graydon (Track 2)
Arranged By Tim Hauser (Track 8)
Conductor – Clair Fischer (Track 9)
Contractor (Musical Contractor) – Frank De Caro
Engineer (Overdubs & Mixing) – Jay Graydon
Mastered By – Bernie Grundman
Recorded By – Bill Thomas, Joseph Bogan

Art Direction, Design – Taki Ono
Illustration – Pater Sato
Photography – Matthew Rolston

Mastered At A&M Studios
Mixed At Garden Rake Studios
Overdubbed At Garden Rake Studios
Recorded At Dawnbreaker Studios
Mastered at A&M Studios, Los Angeles, CA
Phonographic Copyright Atlantic Recording Corporation
Copyright Atlantic Recording Corporation