1972 The Rascals – The Island Of Real

The Island Of Real is the ninth and final studio album by rock band The Rascals, released in 1972. It peaked at number 180 on the Billboard 200 chart. The group’s final four singles — “Lucky Day,” “Brother Tree,” “Hummin’ Song” and “Jungle Walk” — failed to make the Top 100 and the Rascals disbanded.

The album was reissued in 1999 by Sundazed Records with two unreleased bonus tracks and also reissued along with Peaceful World on the BGO label in 2008.


1  Lucky Day (Felix Cavaliere) 03:09
2  Saga Of New York (Felix Cavaliere) 04:04
3  Be On The Real Side (Bob Popwell) 03:37
4  Jungle Walk (Buzzy Feiten) 03:05
5  Brother Tree (Felix Cavaliere) 03:38
6  Island Of Real (Felix Cavaliere) 04:57
7  Hummin’ Song (Felix Cavaliere) 03:58
8  Echoes (Felix Cavaliere) 03:11
9  Buttercup (Felix Cavaliere) 05:06
10  Time Will Tell (Felix Cavaliere) 04:08
11  Lament (Felix Cavaliere) 06:10


BassBob Popwell
DrumsDino Danelli
GuitarBuzzy Feiten
KeyboardsFelix Cavaliere
SynthesizerFelix Cavaliere
SynthesizerBuzzy Feiten
SaxDavid Sanborn
SaxCharles Dinwiddie
TrumpetSteve Madaio
HarpLois Colin
CongasDaniel Ben Zebulon
CongasJack Scarangella
CongasRalph MacDonald
CongasRocki Dzidzornu
PercussionDino Danelli

Other Musicians

2 Saga Of New York

SaxJoe Farrell

6 Island Of Real

FluteJoe Farrell

7 Hummin’ Song

SaxDavid Sanborn

8 Echoes

VocalsMolly Holt

9 Buttercup

FlugelhornMarvin Stamm
FluteHubert Laws

10 Time Will Tell

SaxJon Smith
Background VocalsMolly Holt
VocalsAnnie Sutton
VocalsFelix Cavaliere

Liner Notes

Producer – Felix Cavaliere
Arranged By – Arthur Jenkins (Tracks 8, 9)
Engineer – James Green, Wayne Tarnowski
Recorded By – Lehman Yates

Cover (Art) – Dino Danelli
Photography – Ernest Holt, Kay Zar, Nancy Cataldi

Mastered At Customatrix
Recorded At Columbia Recording Studios
Phonographic Copyright CBS Inc