1999 Christina Aguilera – Christina Aguilera

Christina Aguilera is the self-titled debut studio album by American singer Christina Aguilera. It was released on August 24, 1999, by RCA Records. After recording “Reflection”, the theme song for Mulan, RCA laid the foundation for the album immediately and started presenting Aguilera with tracks for her debut album, which they later decided would have a January 1999 release. Its music incorporates dance-pop and teen pop genres, with a few songs featuring strong elements from soul and R&B. Contributions to the album’s production came from a wide range of producers, including David Frank, Ron Fair, Guy Roche, Robin Thicke, Diane Warren, Matthew Wilder, and Aaron Zigman.

Christina Aguilera earned Aguilera the Grammy Award for Best New Artist at the 2000 Grammy Awards. The release debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 with first-week sales of 253,000 copies. Christina Aguilera was certified octuple platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) and has sold more than 9 million copies in the US. Globally, the project has sold over 17 million units, making it her best-selling album.


1  Genie In A Bottle (Steve Kipner; David Frank; Pamela Sheyne) 03:38
2  What A Girl Wants (Shelly Peiken; Guy Roche) 03:53
I Turn To You (Diane Warren) 04:33
4  So Emotional (Franne Golde; Tom Snow) 04:00
5  Come On Over (All I Want Is You) (Paul Rein; Johan Aberg) 03:09
6  Reflection (Matthew Wilder; David Zippel) 03:33
7  Love For All Seasons (Carl Sturken; Evan Rogers) 03:59
8  Somebody’s Somebody (Diane Warren) 05:03
9  When You Put Your Hands On Me (Robin Thicke; James Gass) 03:35
10  Blessed (Travon Potts; Brock Walsh) 03:06
11  Love Will Find A Way (Carl Sturken; Evan Rogers) 03:56
12  Obvious (Heather Holley) 03:59


1 Genie In A Bottle

Drums (programming)Steve Kipner
Drums (programming)David Frank
KeyboardsSteve Kipner
KeyboardsDavid Frank

2 What A Girl Wants

GuitarBruce Watson
GuitarJohn Goux
ProgrammingGuy Roche
PercussionMatt Laug
Background VocalsShelly Peiken

3 I Turn To You

GuitarMichael Thompson
GuitarTim Pierce
MoogJohn Glaser
ProgrammingGuy Roche
Background VocalsSue Ann Carwell

4 So Emotional

GuitarAnthony Mazza
ProgrammingRon Harris

5 Come On Over (All I Want Is You)

KeyboardsPaul Rein
ProgrammingJohan Aberg
ProgrammingPaul Rein

7 Love For All Seasons

Background VocalsEvan Rogers

8 Somebody’s Somebody

GuitarAli Boudris
ProgrammingKhris Kellow

9 When You Put Your Hands On Me

BassRobin Thicke
DrumsRobin Thicke
KeyboardsRobin Thicke

11 Love Will Find A Way

Background VocalsEvan Rogers

12 Obvious

PianoHeather Holley
ProgrammingRob Hoffman

Liner Notes

Producer – Steve Kipner, David Frank (Track 1)
Producer – Guy Roche (Tracks 2, 3)
Producer – Ron Harris (Track 4)
Producer – Johan Aberg, Paul Rein, Aaron Zigman (Track 5)
Producer – Matthew Wilder (Track 6)
Producer – Carl Sturken, Evan Rogers (Tracks 7, 11)
Producer – Khris Kellow (Track 8)
Producer – Robin Thicke (Track 9)
Producer – Travon Potts (Track 10)
Producer – Rob Hoffman (Track 12)
Co-producer – Doreen Dorian (Track 8)
Producer (Executive)- Diane Warren (Tracks 3, 8)
Arranged By – Steve Kipner, David Frank (Track 1)
Arranged By – Guy Roche (Tracks 2, 3)
Arranged By – Matthew Wilder (Track 6)
Arranged By – Khris Kellow (Track 8)
Arranged By – Steve Porcaro (Track 12)
Arranged By (Orchestra) – Aaron Zigman (Track 6)
Arranged By (Vocal) – Pam Sheyne (Track 1)
Arranged By (Vocal) – Travon Potts, Brock Walsh, Sherree Ford-Payne (Track 10)
Conductor – Jerry Goldsmith (Track 6)
Edited By – Bill Malina (Track 9)
Engineer – Paul Arnold, Ryan Freeland (Track 1)
Engineer – Mario Luccy (Tracks 2, 3, 8)
Engineer – Ron Harris, Doc Little, Mike Hatzinger (Track 4)
Engineer – Johan Aberg (Track 5)
Engineer – Ali Boudris (Track 8)
Engineer – Dan Garcia (Track 10)
Engineer – Rob Hoffman (Track 12)
Engineer (Assistant) – Joe Brown (Track 10)
Engineer (Assistant) – Terri Wong (Track 12)
Mastered By – Eddy Schreyer
Mixed By – Dave Way (Track 2)
Mixed By – Mick Guzauski (Track 3)
Mixed By – Rob Chiarelli (Track 4)
Mixed By – Peter Mokran (Tracks 5, 6, 7, 10, 11)
Mixed By – Dave Pensado (Tracks 8, 9)
Mixed By – Robin Thicke (Track 9)
Mixed By – Tommy Vicari (Track 12)
Mixed By (Assistant) – Michael Huff (Tracks 2, 4)
Mixed By (Assistant) – Tony Flores (Tracks 5, 6, 7, 10, 11)
Mixed By (Assistant) – Jeff Griffin (Tracks 8, 9)
Mixed By (Assistant) – Tim Lauber (Track 12)
Recorded By – Steve Kipner, David Frank (Track 1)
Recorded By – Phil Kaffel (Track 6)
Recorded By – Al Hemberger (Tracks 7, 11)
Recorded By (Vocal) – Aaron Zigman (Track 5)

Artwork By – Sean Mosher-Smith
Photography – Yariv Milchan

Mastered At Oasis Mastering
Phonographic Copyright BMG Entertainment
Copyright BMG Entertainment