1989 Mari Hamada – Return To Myself

Return To Myself is the ninth studio album by Japanese singer/songwriter Mari Hamada, released on June 7, 1989 by Invitation. It is Hamada’s second album to be produced by Greg Edward, and it features contributions by Chicago members Bill Champlin and Jason Scheff. It was also Hamada’s last album to be issued on LP. The album was reissued alongside Hamada’s past releases on January 15, 2014.

Return to Myself became Hamada’s first album to hit No. 1 on Oricon’s albums chart. It was also certified Platinum by the RIAJ. In addition, the title track “Return to Myself ~Shinai, Shinai, Natsu.” became her first No. 1 on Oricon’s singles chart.


1  Return To Myself (Hiroyuki Otsuki; Mari Hamada) 04:31
2  Separate Lives (Kazuhiro Hara; Mari Hamada) 03:39
3  Emotion In Motion (Hiroyuki Otsuki; Mari Hamada) 04:31
4  Walking On The Borderline (Hiroyuki Otsuki; Mari Hamada) 03:51
5  Second Wind (Takanobu Masuda; Mari Hamada) 05:51
6  Only In My Dreams (Hiroyuki Otsuki; Mari Hamada) 03:54
7  Take Me To Your Heart (Chris Farren; Steve Diamond; Mari Hamada) 04:46
8  We Should Be So Lucky (Greg Edward; Randy Kerber; Mari Hamada) 03:28
9  With All My Love (Bruce Gaitsch; Mark Muller; Mari Hamada) 04:35
10  Restless Kind (Hiroyuki Otsuki; Mari Hamada) 04:05


Bass John Pierce
Drums John M Keane
Guitar Mike Landau
Acoustic Guitar Mike Landau
Keyboards Randy Kerber
Keyboards Charles Judge
French Horn Bill Alsup
Sax Jimmy Zavala
Trombone Claude Cailliet
Trumpet Lee Thornburg
Percussion John Keane
Percussion Denny Fongheiser
Background Vocals Bill Champlin
Background Vocals Jason Scheff
Vocals Mari Hamada

Other Musicians

Cello – Maurice Grants, Nancy Grants
Double Bass – Dave Stone
Viola – Carole Castillo, Ray Tischer
Violin – Michele Nardone, Rhonni Hallman, Charles Veal, Gina Kronstadt, Marcy Dicterow

Liner Notes

Producer – Greg Edward
Producer (Executive) – Motoshi Uno, Seiichiro Ishihara
Arranged By – Greg Edward, H.M. Project, Randy Kerber
Arranged By (Horns) – Greg Edward, Jimmy Z
Arranged By (Strings) – Randy Kerber
Concertmaster – Doug Cameron
Directed By (Vocal) – Masao Nakajima
Engineer – Andy Udoff, Greg Edward
Mastered By – Stephen Marcussen
Mixed By – Greg Edward
Mixed By (Assistant) – Andy Udoff
Recorded By – Greg Edward

Art Direction, Design – Junichi Nakamura
Photography – Dennis Keeley, Hiro Ushijima

Mastered At Precision Lacquer
Mixed At Rumbo Recorders
Recorded At Rumbo Recorders
Recorded At Victor Studio
Recorded At Studio Birdman
Recorded At Sound Atelier
Phonographic Copyright Victor Entertainment Inc
Copyright Victor Entertainment Inc