1988 Pointer Sisters – Serious Slammin

Serious Slammin’ is the thirteenth studio album by the Pointer Sisters, released in 1988 by RCA Records.

Serious Slammin is the Pointer Sisters’ 14th album in 15 years; it is the last record, to date, that the group made with longtime producer Richard Perry. Its first single, “He Turned Me Out” (also featured in the 1988 film Action Jackson), reached the R&B top 40. A second single, the ballad “I’m in Love”, also reached the R&B chart. Other songs of note include “Moonlight Dancing” (written by Diane Warren and later covered by Bette Midler), fan favorite “I Will Be There” and the title track, which was later covered by George Clinton. Serious Slammin’ is the Pointers’ last album to chart on the Billboard Top 200 albums tally to date; it failed to make an entry on Billboard’s R&B albums chart.


1  Serious Slammin’ (Greg Crockett; Lelan Zales) 04:24
2  Shut Up And Dance (Glen Ballard; Siedah Garrett) 04:13
3  Moonlight Dancing (Diane Warren) 04:48
4  He Turned Me Out (LeMel Humes; Mary Lee Kortes) 04:06
5  Flirtatious (Jeff Pescetto; Tony Haynes) 04:18
6  My Life (Adele Bertei; David Paul Bryant; Sandra Bernhard) 04:46
7  I’m In Love (Jonathan Butler; Simon May) 04:12
8  Pride (Jim Lang; Matthew Wilder) 03:41
9  Uh-Uh (Jeanette Hawes; Ricky Lawson; Robert Barnes; Tony Coleman) 04:14
10  I Will Be There (Eddie Tyson; David Schwartz) 04:39


1 Serious Slammin’

BassGreg Crockett
DrumsGreg Crockett
GuitarGreg Crockett
PianoIsaias Gamboa
SynthesizerIsaias Gamboa
SynthesizerGreg Crockett
SynthesizerJohn Bokowski
SynthesizerLelan Zales
TromboneIsaias Gamboa

2 Shut Up And Dance

Bass (synthesizer)Glen Ballard
DrumsJohn Bokowski
GuitarBasil Fung
ClavinetGlen Ballard
SynthesizerGlen Ballard
SynthesizerJohn Bokowski

3 Moonlight Dancing

Bass (synthesizer)Greg Crockett
Drums (programming)Paul Fox
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
KeyboardsPaul Fox
SynthesizerGuy Roche
SynthesizerJohn Bokowski
PercussionJohn Bokowski

4 He Turned Me Out

Bass (synthesizer)LeMel Humes
Drums (programming)Bob Mithoff
GuitarGreg Crockett
KeyboardsJohn Bokowski
SynthesizerJohn Bokowski
SynthesizerBob Mithoff
SynthesizerIsaias Gamboa
HornsJohn Bokowski
PercussionJohn Bokowski
PercussionPeter Rafelson

5 Flirtatious

DrumsJeff Pescetto
KeyboardsGregg Karukas
KeyboardsPat Caddick

6 My Life

Drums (synthesizer)David Paul Bryant
Drums (synthesizer)Paul Fox
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
SynthesizerDavid Paul Bryant
SynthesizerPaul Fox
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa

7 I’m In Love

Bass (synthesizer)Jeff Lorber
Drums (Linn)Jeff Lorber
GuitarPeter Rafelson
Fender RhodesJeff Lorber
SaxDavid Majal Li

8 Pride

Bass (synthesizer)Jim Lang
Drums (Linn)Jim Lang
ClavinetTony Coleman
OrganMatthew Wilder
SynthesizerMatthew Wilder

9 Uh-Uh

BassTony Coleman
DrumsRicky Lawson
GuitarRoland Bautista
SynthesizerTony Coleman

10 I Will Be There

BassRick Timas
DrumsRick Timas
DrumsPeter Rafelson
GuitarPeter Rafelson
Fender RhodesPeter Rafelson
KeyboardsRick Timas
KeyboardsRichie Pagliari
SynthesizerPeter Rafelson

Liner Notes

Producer – Richard Perry
Co-producer – James Reese (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4)
Co-producer – Norman Whitfield Jr (Tracks 1, 2)
Co-producer – Glen Ballard (Track 2)
Co-producer – John Bokowski (Track 3)
Co-producer – Jeff Pescetto (Track 5)
Co-producer – David Bryant, Paul Fox (Track 6)
Co-producer – Jeff Lorber (Track 7)
Co-producer – Jim Lang, Matthew Wilder (Track 8)
Co-producer – Ricky Lawson, Tony Coleman (Track 9)
Co-producer – Rick Timas (Track 10)
Producer (Additional) – Steve Thompson, Michael Barbiero (Track 6)
Coordinator – Cheryl Henning, Scott Maddox
Engineer (Additional) – Francis Buckley, Glen Holguin, Jeff Lorber, Michael Brooks, Norman Whitfield Jr, Robert Brown, Ross Stein
Engineer (Second) – Bryant Arnett, Cliff Jones, Jay Willis, Ken Felton, Kraig Miller, Richard Piatte, Robin Laine
Engineer (Recording) – Glen Holguin (Tracks 5, 8)
Engineer (Recording) – Francis Buckley (Track 6)
Engineer (Recording) – Jeff Lorber (Track 7)
Engineer (Recording) – Robert Brown (Track 9)
Engineer (Recording) – Ted Blaisdell (Track 10)
Engineer (Tracking) – Francis Buckley (Tracks 1, 2)
Engineer (Tracking) – Bob Mithoff (Track 4)
Mastered By – Brian Gardner
Mixed By – Norman Whitfield Jr (Tracks 2, 3, 4)
Mixed By – John Potoker (Tracks 5, 7, 9, 10)
Recorded By (Vocals) – Michael Brooks
Remix – Steve Thompson, Michael Barbiero (Track 6)

Art Direction, Design – John Kosh
Photography – Herb Ritts

Mastered At Bernie Grundman Mastering
Recorded At Studio 55, Los Angeles
Recorded At Studio Masters
Recorded At Rafelson Recording
Recorded At Mithoff Studio
Recorded At JHL Studios
Recorded At Skip Saylor Recording
Remixed At Studio 55, Los Angeles
Remixed At Record Plant, Los Angeles
Remixed At Conway Studios
Remixed At Mediasound
Phonographic Copyright BMG Music
Copyright BMG Music