1987 DeBarge – Bad Boys

Bad Boys is the fifth studio album released by R&B group DeBarge in 1987, after both El DeBarge and Bunny DeBarge had left the lineup.

When El and Bunny DeBarge left the group, remaining members James, Mark and Randy left Motown Records after a seven-year tenure in 1986 and signed with the local Striped Horse label. They then called on eldest brother Bobby (formerly of the group Switch) to join the lineup and produce their album.

With James and Bobby DeBarge now alternating as the lead vocalists, the group released the album in 1987 and released two singles: “Dance All Night”, which became the group’s last R&B hit, peaking at number 33, and the ballad “I Got You Babe”, which fizzled at number 73. The group would later appear on the Punky Brewster show with brother Chico tagging along (Chico, then having a hit with “Talk to Me”, opened for his brothers during a tour).


1  Dance All Night (Galen Senogles; Hazel Payne; Lorenzo Pryor; Ralph Benatar) 03:44
2  We’re Having Fun (Alvin Allen; James DeBarge) 03:36
3  You’re A Big Boy (Alvin Allen; Bobby DeBarge; James DeBarge; Mark Debarge; Randy Debarge) 04:34
4  You’re Not The Only One (Eric Williams; Richard Gibbs) 03:15
5  All Over (James DeBarge) 04:28
6  Say You Do (James DeBarge; Randy Debarge) 04:29
7  I Got You Babe (Bobby DeBarge) 04:42
8  Take It To The Top (Lorenzo Pryor; Mark Debarge) 03:22
9  Every Time I Think Of You (James DeBarge) 04:30


BassJimmy Johnson
BassKerry Hatch
BassLeon Gaer
BassLouis Johnson
DrumsMichael Jochum
GuitarEric Williams
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
GuitarRoland Bautista
KeyboardsBobby DeBarge
KeyboardsJames DeBarge
KeyboardsRandy Kerber
KeyboardsRichard Gibbs
ProgrammingRalph Benatar
ProgrammingRichard Gibbs
SaxDoug Norwine
PercussionPete Escovedo

Liner Notes

Producer – Carlo Nasi, DeBarge
Co-producer – Galen Senogles, Ralph Benatar, Richard Gibbs (Tracks 1)
Co-producer – Richard Gibbs (Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9)
Arranged By – Richard Gibbs (Tracks 1, 4, 6, 7)
Arranged By – DeBarge (Tracks 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Edited By – Bill Giolando
Engineer – Gabe Veltri, Galen Senogles, John X
Engineer (Assistant) – Judy Clapp, Ken Adessi, Peter Doell, Saul Raye, Stephen Krause, Troy Mathisen, Will Rogers
Mastered By – Wally Traugott
Mixed By – Gabe Veltri

Art Direction – George Osaki, Kurt Calcagno
Artwork – Chaz Atkins, James Walker
Photography – Stephen Harvey

Mastered At Capitol Studios
Mixed At Capitol Records, Inc.
Recorded At Avatar Studios
Recorded At Ground Control Studios
Recorded At Image Recording Studios
Recorded At Capitol Records, Inc.
Recorded At Sheika Studios
Recorded At Fiddler Studio
Phonographic Copyright Striped Horse Records Inc
Copyright Striped Horse Records Inc