1984 Johnnie Taylor – Best Of The Old And The New

Best Of The Old And The New is an album by Johnnie Taylor, released in 1984.

Johnnie Harrison Taylor (May 5, 1934 – May 31, 2000) was an American recording artist and songwriter who performed a wide variety of genres, from blues, rhythm and blues, soul, and gospel to pop, doo-wop, and disco.


1  Seconds Of Your Love (Ron Kersey; Sam Dees) 04:44
2  What About My Love (Patrick Moten) 05:44
3  I’m So Proud (Cecil Womack) 05:45
4  Hey For The Winner (Cecil Womack; Linda Womack) 05:25
5  Shoot For The Stars (Jeffrey Osborne; Ron Kersey) 05:46
6  Just Ain’t Good Enough (Billy Nelson; John Parham; Richard Griffin; Sandra Sully; Patrick Moten) 05:54


BassNathan East
DrumsJames Gadson
GuitarDavid T Walker
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
KeyboardsPatrick Moten
Background VocalsThe Waters
VocalsJohnnie Taylor

Other Musicians

6 Just Ain’t Good Enough

BassPatrick Moten

Liner Notes

Producer- Patrick Moten, Otis Smith
Producer (Executive) – Otis Smith
Arranged By (Horns, Strings) – Gene Page
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Patrick Moten
Arranged By (Background Vocals) – Patrick Moten, Otis Smith
Engineer – Barney Perkins
Engineer (Assistant) – Les Cooper, Steve MacMillan, Tom Cummings
Mastered By – Greg Fulginiti

Art Direction, Design – Ginny Livingston
Photography – George Holz

Mastered At Artisan Sound Recorders
Recorded At Kendun Recorders
Phonographic Copyright (p) Beverly Glen Music
Copyright Beverly Glen Music