1967 Van Dyke Parks – Song Cycle

Song Cycle is the debut album by American recording artist Van Dyke Parks, released in November 1967 by Warner Bros. Records. With the exception of three cover songs, Song Cycle was written and composed by Parks, while its production was credited to Warner Bros. staff producer Lenny Waronker.

The album draws from a number of American popular music genres, including bluegrass, ragtime, and show tunes, and frames classical styles in the context of 1960s pop music. The material utilizes unconventional song structures, and lyrically explores American history and culture, reflecting Parks’ history working in both the film and music industries of Southern California.

Upon its release, Song Cycle was largely acclaimed by critics despite lukewarm sales, and later gained status as a cult album. In 2017, Song Cycle was ranked the 93rd greatest album of the 1960s by Pitchfork


1  Vine Street (Randy Newman) 03:40
2  Palm Desert (Van Dyke Parks) 03:10
3  Widow’s Walk (Van Dyke Parks) 03:12
4  Laurel Canyon Blvd (Van Dyke Parks) 01:19
5  The All Golden (Van Dyke Parks) 03:46
6  Van Dyke Parks (Van Dyke Parks) 00:58
7  Public Domain 02:33
8  Donovan’s Colours (Donovan Leitch) 03:41
9  The Attic (Van Dyke Parks) 02:59
10  Laurel Canyon Blvd (Van Dyke Parks) 00:30
11  By The People (Van Dyke Parks) 05:53
12  Pot Pourri (Van Dyke Parks) 01:07


GuitarDick Rosmini
GuitarRon Elliott
BalalaikaAllan Reuss
BalalaikaLeon Stewart
BalalaikaNicolai Bolin
BalalaikaTommy Tedesco
BalalaikaVasil Crlenica
BalalaikaWilliam Nadel
AccordionCarl Fortina
BrassAllan Briegleb
BrassDick Hyde
BrassRichard Perissi
BrassThomas Shepard
BrassVince DeRosa
WoodwindsGeorge Fields
WoodwindsJay Migliori
WoodwindsJim Horn
WoodwindsNorman Benno
WoodwindsTed Nash
WoodwindsTommy Morgan
WoodwindsTom Scott
WoodwindsWilliam Green
PercussionEarl Palmer
PercussionGary Coleman
PercussionHal Blaine
PercussionJim Gordon
VocalsVan Dyke Parks

Other Musicians

Choir – Billie Barnum, Durrie Parks, Gaile Parks, Gerri Engeman, Jim Hendricks, Julia Rinker, Karen Gunderson, Nick Woods, Paul Jay Robbins, Vanessa Hendricks
Harp – Gayle Levant
Strings – Armand Kaproff, Chuck Berghofer, Darrel Terwilliger, Dennis Budimir, Don Bagley, Frederick Seykora, Gregory Bemko, Harry Bluestone, Jerome Reisler, Jesse Erlichman, Joseph Ditullio, Joseph Saxon, Leonard Malarsky, Leonard Selic, Lyle Ritz, Nathan Gershman, Philip Goldberg, Ralph Schaeffer, Red Rhodes, Robert Westlund, Samuel Boghossian, Trefoni Rizzi, William Kurasch
Viola (Solo) – Virginia Majewski
Violin (Solo) – Misha Goodatieff

Liner Notes

Producer – Lenny Waronker
Conductor – Kirby Johnson
Contractor – Don Lanier, Tommy Tedesco
Coordinator – Michael Vosse
Engineer – Lee Herschberg, Bruce Botnick

Art Direction – Ed Thrasher
Design – The Corporate Head
Graphics – Tom Wilkes
Photography By – Guy Webster

Mastered At Customatrix
Record Company Warner Bros. Records Inc