1997 John Wetton – Arkangel

Arkangel is the third solo album by John Wetton, released in 1997 on Eagle Records.

John Kenneth Wetton (12 June 1949 – 31 January 2017) was an English singer, bassist, guitarist, and songwriter. He was born in Willington, Derbyshire, and grew up in Bournemouth, Dorset. Between 1972- 1982, he rose to fame fronting the bands King Crimson, U.K. and Asia. Notable work as a bass guitarist and backing vocalist included brief stints with Family, Roxy Music, Uriah Heep and Wishbone Ash.


1  The Circle Of St Giles (John Wetton) 02:03
2  The Last Thing On My Mind (John Wetton; Billy Liesegang) 03:50
3  Desperate Times (John Wetton; John Young) 05:02
4  I Can’t Lie Anymore (John Wetton; Bob Marlette) 04:13
5  Arkangel (John Wetton; John Young) 04:17
6  You Against The World (John Wetton; John Young) 03:58
7  Be Careful What You Wish For (John Wetton; Billy Liesegang) 05:28
8  Emma (John Wetton) 03:01
9  Nothing Happens For Nothing (John Wetton; Bob Marlette) 04:05
10  All Grown Up (John Wetton; John Young) 05:07
11  After All (John Wetton; John Young) 04:15
12  The Celtic Cross (John Wetton; John Young; Mike Stobbie) 03:53
13  Take These Tears (Bonus) (John Wetton) 05:46
14  Magazines (Bonus) (John Wetton; Richard Palmer-James) 03:50
15  Woman (Bonus) (John Wetton) 04:39


MusicianJohn Wetton
MusicianBilly Liesegang
MusicianRobert Fripp
MusicianSteve Hackett
MusicianJohn Young
MusicianThomas Lang
MusicianMisha Calvin
MusicianMike Stobbie
MusicianBob Marlette
MusicianMartin Orford
MusicianJohn Sharp
MusicianTim Garland

Other Musicians

1 The Circle Of St Giles

KeyboardsMike Stobbie

5 Arkangel

Guitar (solo)Robert Fripp

7 Be Careful What You Wish For

Guitar (solo)Billy Liesegang

9 Nothing Happens For Nothing

HarmonicaSteve Hackett

10 All Grown Up

Guitar (solo)Steve Hackett

12 The Celtic Cross

Guitar (solo)John Wetton
KeyboardsMike Stobbie
BagpipesMike Stobbie

13 Take These Tears (Bonus)

BassJohn Wetton
DrumsSimon Phillips
GuitarTim Pierce
VocalsJohn Wetton

14 Magazines (Bonus)

GuitarRichard Palmer-James
KeyboardsRichard Palmer-James
KeyboardsJohn Wetton
ProgrammingRichard Palmer-James
VocalsJohn Wetton

15 Woman (Bonus)

BassThomas Radl
Acoustic GuitarRamon Vega
Acoustic GuitarJohn Wetton
Background VocalsThomas Radl
Background VocalsRamon Vega
VocalsJohn Wetton

Liner Notes

Producer – John Wetton, Billy Liesegang
Producer – Mike Stobbie (Tracks 1, 12)
Producer – Bob Marlette (Tracks 4, 9)
Producer – Misha Calvin (Track 8)
Producer – Richard Palmer-James (Track 14)
Engineer – Bob Marlette, Cai Murphy, David Singleton, Fraser Henry, Martin Smith, Pete Schwier, Roger King
Engineer – Ben Robbins, Richard Palmer-James (Track 14)
Engineer – Paul Kennedy (Track 15)
Mastered By – Chris Blair
Mixed By – Pete Schwier

Design – Shock
Photography By – Cat Gwynn, John Wetton, Nicholas De Ville

Mastered At Abbey Road Studios
Recorded At Xero Studio
Recorded At Can-Am Recorders
Recorded At Convent Studio
Recorded At Garage Studios, East Grinstead
Recorded At Intimate Studios
Phonographic Copyright (p) Eagle Records
Copyright (c) Eagle Records