1981 Syreeta – Set My Love In Motion

Set My Love In Motion is the fifth studio album by American singer and songwriter Syreeta Wright, released in July 1981 by Motown.

The album yielded three singles: “You Set My Love in Motion”, “Can’t Shake Your Love” and “Quick Slick”. Set My Love In Motion did not score any commercial success, reaching the lower half of the Billboard 200 album chart, where it ranked at #189, but fared much better on the Black Albums chart, where it reached the top forty on that chart.


1  Quick Slick (Hal Davis; Mitchell Bottler; Norma Helms) 03:48
2  Move It, Do It (Angelo Bond; Todd Cochran; William Weatherspoon) 06:53
3  You Set My Love In Motion (David Cohen; Maureen Bailey) 03:22
4  There’s Nothing Like A Woman In Love (Brian Short; Gloria Sklerov) 04:19
5  Can’t Shake Your Love (Hal Davis; Mitchell Bottler; Norma Helms) 05:36
6  I Must Be In Love (Ken Hirsch; Mark Muller) 03:49
7  Wish Upon A Star (Syreeta Wright) 03:40
8  Out The Box (Ollie E. Brown; Paul Jackson Jr; Syreeta Wright) 05:41
9  I Know The Way To Your Heart (Joe Blocker; Marlo Henderson) 04:05
10  I Love You (James Stewart Jr; Paul Hines; Syreeta Wright) 04:16


BassNathan Watts
BassRomeo Williams
DrumsEddie Summers
DrumsJames Gadson
DrumsKenneth Elliott
DrumsOllie E. Brown
GuitarBarry Finnerty
GuitarCarlos Rios
GuitarDavid T Walker
GuitarMarlo Henderson
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
GuitarRobert Donald Palmer
SitarMarlo Henderson
ClavinetWayne Stalling
ClavinetWilliam Bryant
KeyboardsClarence McDonald
KeyboardsJohn Barnes
KeyboardsSylvester Rivers
KeyboardsTodd Cochran
MoogWayne Stalling
MoogWilliam Bryant
PianoWayne Stalling
PianoWilliam Bryant
SynthesizerMichael Boddicker
SynthesizerWayne Stalling
SynthesizerWilliam Bryant
SynthesizerPaul Jackson Jr
SynthesizerTodd Cochran
SaxGary Herbig
SaxGerald Albright
VibraphoneGary Coleman
PercussionMelvin Webb
PercussionOllie E. Brown
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsAndrea Robinson
Background VocalsJeanette Hawes
Background VocalsJim Gilstrap
Background VocalsLynn Davis
Background VocalsMarty McCall
Background VocalsPattie Brooks
Background VocalsSuzanne Coston

Other Musicians

Liner Notes

Producer – Hal Davis (Tracks 1, 3, 5)
Producer – Angelo Bond, William Weatherspoon (Tracks 2, 12)
Producer – Ollie Brown (Tracks 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Co-producer – Cheryl R Brown
Producer (Executive) – Berry Gordy
Arranged By (Horns) – Jerry Hey
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Ollie E Brown, Sylvester Rivers
Arranged By (Strings) – Gene Page
Engineer (Assistant) – Fred Law, Ginny Pallante, Milt Calice, Richard Sonoda, Steve Halquist
Engineer (Recording) – Bob Robitaille, Bobby Brooks, David Zammit, Dennis Moody, Greg Falken, Lawrence Horn*, Mike D Stone, Russ Terrana, Tyrone Williams
Mixed By – Bob Robitaille, Mike D Stone, Ollie E Brown, Russ Terrana
Supervisor – Suzanne Coston

Art Direction – Ria Shapiro
Photography By – Leon Lecash
Typography – Sue Reilly

Mixed At Motown Recording Studios
Mixed At Ameraycan Studios
Recorded At Ameraycan Studios
Recorded At Gingerbread Studios
Recorded At Kendun Recorders
Recorded At Motown Recording Studios
Recorded At Bijou Studios
Recorded At Gadstunes Studios
Recorded At Polaris Sound
Phonographic Copyright Motown Record Corporation
Copyright Motown Record Corporation