1996 Soundtrack – E.R.

ost-er-1996In 1996, Atlantic Records released an album of music from the first two seasons of E.R., featuring James Newton Howard‘s theme from the series in its on-air and full versions, selections from the weekly scores composed by Martin Davich (Howard scored the two-hour pilot, Davich scored all the subsequent episodes and wrote a new theme used from 2006–2009 until the final episode, when Howard’s original theme returned) and songs used on the series.

ER is an American medical drama television series created by novelist and medical doctor Michael Crichton that aired on NBC from September 19, 1994, to April 2, 2009, with a total of 331 episodes spanning over 15 seasons. It was produced by Constant c Productions and Amblin Television, in association with Warner Bros. Television. ER follows the inner life of the emergency room (ER) of fictional County General Hospital in Chicago, Illinois, and various critical issues faced by the room’s physicians and staff. The show became the longest-running primetime medical drama in American television history. It won 23 Primetime Emmy Awards, including the 1996 Outstanding Drama Series award, and received 124 Emmy nominations, which makes it the most nominated drama program in history. ER won 116 awards in total, including the Peabody Award, while the cast earned four Screen Actors Guild Awards for Outstanding Ensemble Performance in a Drama Series


1  Theme From ER (James Newton-Howard) 03:02
2  Dr. Lewis And Renee (Martin Davich) 01:57
3  Canine Blues (Martin Davich) 02:27
4  Goodbye Baby Susie (Martin Davich) 03:11
5  Doug & Carol (Martin Davich) 01:59
6  Healing Hands (Marc Cohn) 04:25
7  The Hero (Martin Davich) 01:55
8  Carter, See You Next Fall (Martin Davich) 01:28
9  Reasons For Living (Duncan Sheik) 04:33
10  Dr. Greene And A Mother’s Deat (Martin Davich) 02:48
11  Raul Dies (Martin Davich) 02:20
12  Hell And High Water (Martin Davich) 02:38
13  Hold On (Martin Davich) 02:48
14  Shep Arrives (Martin Davich) 03:37
15  Shattered Glass (Martin Davich) 02:11
16  Theme From ER (TV Version) (James Newton-Howard) 01:00
17  It Came Upon A Midnight Clear (Mark Finnegan) 02:30


PianoMartin Davich

Other Musicians

1 Theme From ER

Drums (programming)James Newton-Howard
KeyboardsJames Newton-Howard
SynthesizerJames Newton-Howard
SynthesizerSteve Porcaro
GuitarMarc Bonilla
GuitarMike Landau
SaxLarry Williams

2 Dr. Lewis And Renee

ProgrammingSteve Porcaro

3 Canine Blues

ProgrammingSteve Porcaro

4 Goodbye Baby Susie

BassNeil Stubenhaus
DrumsJR Robinson
SaxSteve Tavaglione
PercussionBrad Dutz


5 Doug & Carol

 James Newton-Howard

6 Healing Hands

BassT-Bone Wolk
DrumsShawn Pelton
Acoustic GuitarKenny White
MandolinLarry Campbell
PianoMarc Cohn
WurlitzerKenny White
PercussionShawn Pelton
Background VocalsHolly Palmer
Background VocalsWendell Holmes
Background VocalsPopsy Dixon
Background VocalsKenny White
Background VocalsCurtis King Jr
Background VocalsFrank Floyd
VocalsMarc Cohn

7 The Hero

 James Newton-Howard

9 Reasons For Living

Drums (programming)Duncan Sheik
KeyboardsDuncan Sheik
PianoDuncan Sheik
PianoJames Newton-Howard
VocalsDuncan Sheik


12 Hell And High Water

ProgrammingSteve Porcaro

13 Hold On

BassNeil Stubenhaus
DrumsJR Robinson
PercussionSteve Forman

14 Shep Arrives

BassNeil Stubenhaus
PercussionSteve Forman

15 Shattered Glass

PercussionSteve Forman

16 Theme From ER (TV Version)

Drums (programming)James Newton-Howard
KeyboardsJames Newton-Howard
SynthesizerJames Newton-Howard
SynthesizerSteve Porcaro
GuitarMarc Bonilla
GuitarMike Landau
SaxLarry Williams

17 It Came Upon A Midnight Clear

BassNeil Stubenhaus
DrumsJR Robinson

Liner Notes

Producer – Bill Schnee, James Newton Howard (Tracks 1, 16)
Producer – Martin Davich (Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15)
Producer – Marc Cohn, Paul Samwell-Smith (Track 6)
Producer – Duncan Sheik, Rupert Hine (Track 9)
Producer (Executive) – Gregory Sill, John Wells, Linda Ferrando, Michael Crichton
Co-producer – Michael Mason (Tracks 1, 16)
Engineer – Frank Filipetti (Track 6)
Engineer (Assistant) – Suzanne Dyer (Track 6)
Engineer (Second) – Dan Yashiv (Track 1)
Mixed By – Bill Schnee (Tracks 1, 16)
Mixed By – John Cevetello (Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15)
Mixed By – Frank Filipetti (Track 6)
Mixed By (Assistant) – John Bleich (Track 6)
Engineer (Assistant) – Greg Cathcart (Tracks 7, 8, 13, 14, 15, 17)
Engineer (Assistant) – Jeff Shannon (Track 17)
Mixed By (Additional) – David Darlington (Track 1)
Recorded By – Jim Hill, Michael Mason (Track 1)

Phonographic Copyright Atlantic Recording Corporation
Phonographic Copyright Warner Bros. Television
Phonographic Copyright Constant C Productions
Phonographic Copyright Amblin Television
Copyright Atlantic Recording Corporation
Copyright WEA International Inc