1980 The Gap Band – Gap Band III

The Gap Band III is the fifth studio album (contrary to the title) by American R&B band The Gap Band, released in 1980 on Mercury Records. It was produced by Lonnie Simmons. It was their first album to achieve platinum status. The album was remastered by PTG Records in 2009 including the radio edit of “Burn Rubber On Me (Why You Wanna Hurt Me)”.


1  When I Look In Your Eyes (Lonnie Simmons; Rudy Taylor; Wilmer Raglin) 05:02
2  Yearning For Your Love (Oliver Scott; Ronnie Wilson) 05:43
3  Burn Rubber On Me (Why You Wanna Hurt Me) (Charlie Wilson; Lonnie Simmons; Rudy Taylor) 05:33
4  Nothin’ Comes To Sleepers (Oliver Scott; Ronnie Wilson) 05:35
5  Are You Living (Charlie Wilson; John Black) 04:24
6  Sweet Caroline (Charlie Wilson; Malvin Dino Vice) 03:23
7  Humpin’ (Charlie Wilson; Lonnie Wilson; Ronnie Wilson; Rudy Taylor) 05:15
8  The Way (Oliver Scott; Ronnie Wilson) 04:48
9  Gash Gash Gash (Robert Wilson) 05:18


BassRobert Wilson
DrumsRaymond Calhoun
DrumsMelvin Webb
DrumsRonnie Kaufman
GuitarFred Jenkins
GuitarGlen Nightingale
GuitarMarlo Henderson
KeyboardsCharlie Wilson
KeyboardsRonnie Wilson
KeyboardsOliver Scott
KeyboardsRobert Whitfield
KeyboardsJohn Black
SynthesizerCharlie Wilson
SynthesizerOliver Scott
SynthesizerCavin Yarbrough
HornsWilmer Raglin
HornsOliver Scott
HornsEarl Robinson
TrumpetRonnie Wilson
HarpKatie Kirkpatrick Mann
PercussionCharlie Wilson
PercussionRaymond Calhoun
Background VocalsRobert Wilson
Background VocalsRonnie Wilson
Background VocalsLonnie Wilson
Background VocalsHoward Huntsberry
Background VocalsJonah Ellis
Background VocalsMarva King
Background VocalsMaxayn Lewis
Background VocalsRudy Taylor
Background VocalsVal Young
Background VocalsMalvin Dino Vice
Background VocalsWilmer Raglin
Background VocalsOliver Scott
Background VocalsJohn Black
VocalsCharlie Wilson

Other Musicians

9 Gash Gash Gash

VocalsRobert Wilson

Liner Notes

Producer – Lonnie Simmons
Arranged By (Horns) – Lonnie Simmons, Robert Wilson, Charlie Wilson, Ronnie Wilson
Arranged By (Strings) – Malvin Vice
Engineer – Jack Rouben, Michael Evans
Engineer (Assistant) – Glenn Weinrauch, Tony Douse
Mastered By – Brian Gardner
Mixed By – Jack Rouben, Michael Evans

Design – Phil Carlig
Photography – Bobby Holland

Mixed At Total Experience Recording Studios, Hollywood
Recorded At Total Experience Recording Studios, Hollywood
Phonographic Copyright (p) Phonogram Inc