1982 Soundtrack – E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial

E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (also known simply as E.T.) is a 1982 American science fiction film produced and directed by Steven Spielberg, and written by Melissa Mathison. It tells the story of Elliott, a boy who befriends an extraterrestrial, dubbed E.T., who is stranded on Earth. The film stars Dee Wallace, Henry Thomas, Peter Coyote, Robert MacNaughton, and Drew Barrymore.

Longtime Spielberg collaborator John Williams, who composed the film’s musical score, described the challenge of creating one that would generate sympathy for such an odd-looking creature. As with their previous collaborations, Spielberg liked every theme Williams composed and had it included. Spielberg loved the music for the final chase so much that he edited the sequence to suit it. Williams took a modernist approach, especially with his use of polytonality, which refers to the sound of two different keys played simultaneously. The Lydian mode can also be used in a polytonal way. Williams combined polytonality and the Lydian mode to express a mystic, dreamlike, and heroic quality. His theme—emphasizing coloristic instruments such as the harp, piano, celesta, and other keyboards, as well as percussion—suggests E.T.’s childlike nature and his “machine”.

The soundtrack was remastered and re-issued in 2017, with extra tracks.


Disc 1

1 Main Title (John Williams) 01:14
2 Far From Home / E.T. Alone (John Williams) 06:57
3 Bait For E.T. (John Williams) 01:45
4 Meeting E.T. (John Williams) 02:08
5 E.T.’s New Home (John Williams) 01:28
6 The Beginning Of A Friendship (John Williams) 02:53
7 Toys (John Williams) 03:13
8 I’m Keeping Him (John Williams) 02:20
9 E.T.’s Powers (John Williams) 02:44
10 The Closet (John Williams) 00:53
11 E.T. And Elliott Get Drunk (John Williams) 02:57
12 Frogs (John Williams) 02:12
13 At Home (John Williams) 05:38
14 The Magic Of Halloween (John Williams) 02:55
15 Sending The Signal (John Williams) 03:58
16 Searching For E.T. (John Williams) 04:18
17 Invading Elliott’s House (John Williams) 02:24
18 Stay With Me (John Williams) 02:24
19 Losing E.T. (John Williams) 02:04
20 E.T. Is Alive (John Williams) 04:22
21 The Rescue And Bike Chase (John Williams) 08:07
22 The Departure (John Williams) 07:07
23 End Credits (John Williams) 03:55

Disc 2

1 Three Million Light Years From Home (John Williams) 03:01
2 Abandoned And Pursued (John Williams) 03:02
3 E.T. And Me (John Williams) 04:54
4 E.T.’s Halloween (John Williams) 04:11
5 Flying (John Williams) 03:25
6 E.T. Phone Home (John Williams) 04:21
7 Over The Moon (John Williams) 02:12
8 Adventure On Earth (John Williams) 15:10
9 The E.T. Adventure (John Williams) 04:12
10 Far From Home / E.T. Alone (Alternate) (John Williams) 07:00
11 The Encounter (John Williams) 01:49
12 Meeting E.T. (Alternate) (John Williams) 02:20
13 E.T.’s New Home (Alternate) (John Williams) 01:27
14 The Kiss (John Williams) 00:49
15 Levitation (John Williams) 00:41
16 Searching For E.T. (Alternate) (John Williams) 04:19
17 Invading Elliott’s House (Alternate) (John Williams) 02:24
18 E.T. Is Dying (John Williams) 02:24
19 The Departure (Alternate) (John Williams) 07:06
20 End Credits (Alternate) (John Williams) 03:55


KeyboardsRalph Grierson
BassoonDon Christlieb
BassoonJack Marsh
BassoonNorman Herzberg
ClarinetDominick Fera
ClarinetJim Kanter
ClarinetMichele Zukovsky
ClarinetRoy D’Antonio
FluteArthur Hoberman
FluteDavid Shostac
FluteLouise DiTullio
FluteSheridon Stokes
French HornArthur Maebe
French HornDaniel Katzen
French HornHenry Sigismonti
French HornJames Decker
French HornRichard Perissi
French HornVince DeRosa
OboeArnold Koblentz
OboeHarold Cowart
OboeWilliam Criss
TromboneDick Nash
TromboneLloyd Ulyate
TrombonePhil Teele
TrumpetChase Craig
TrumpetMalcolm McNab
TrumpetMario Guarneri
TrumpetRobert Divall
TubaJohn Thomas Johnson
TubaNorman Pearson
PercussionRobert Zimmitti
PercussionDon Williams
PercussionJerry Williams
PercussionJoe Porcaro
PercussionKenneth Watson
PercussionLarry Bunker
PercussionSteve Forman


Bass – Bruce Bransby, Dave Young, Dennis Trembly, Elena Terwilliger, Jay Grauer, Richard Feves, Robert Stone
Cello – Armand Kaproff, Armen Ksajikian, Barbara Hunter, Earl Madison, Eleanor Slatkin, Gloria Strassner, Harry Shlutz, Jerome Kessler, Marie Fera, Mary Louise Zeyen, Miguel Martinez, Raymond Kelley, Robert Lee Adcock, Selene Hurford
Harp – Catherine Gotthoffer, Dorothy Remsen
Viola – Alan DeVeritch, Allan Harshman, Archie Levin, David Schwartz, Harry Rumpler, Jan Hlinka, Janet Lakatos, Joel Soultanian, Linn Subotnick, Michael Nowak, Milton Thomas, Myer Bello, Myra Kestenbaum, Pamela Goldsmith, Robert Ostrowsky, Rollice Dale, Virginia Majewski
Violin – Alfred Breuning, Alfred Lustgarten, Anatol Kaminsky, Arnold Belnick, Bernard Kundell, Bill Hybel, Bonnie Douglas, David Frisina, David Montagu, David Newman, David Turner, Dixie Blackstone, Dorothy Wade, Endre Granat, Haim Shtrum, Harold Dicterow, Harold Wolf, Herman Clebanoff, Ilkka Talvi, Irma Neumann, Irving Geller, Israel Baker, Jack Pepper, Marvin Limonick, Mary Lundquist, Miwako Watanabe, Nathan Kaproff, Nathan Ross, Norma Leonard, Oscar Chausow, Paul Shure, Ron Clark, Sheldon Sanov, Stuart Canin

Liner Notes

Producer – Bruce Botnick, John Williams
Producer (Associate) – Frank Marshall
Producer (Executive)- MV Gerhard, Matt Verboys
Conductor – John Williams
Coordinator – Paul Hall, Jake Voulgarides, Nikki Walsh
Edited By – Michael Matessino, Jim Pace
Engineer (Mix-Down) – Bruce Botnick
Engineer (Recording) – Lyle Burbridge
Mastered By – Michael Matessino, Steve Hall, Bruce Botnick
Mixed By – Bruce Botnick
Orchestrated By – Angela Morley, Herbert Spencer
Recorded By – Jim Pace

Illustration, Art Direction – Jim Titus

Edited At Digital Magnetics
Engineered At NBC Universal Studio Post Audio
Mastered At MCA Whitney Recording Studios
Mastered At Uniteye
Mixed At Digital Magnetics
Mixed At Uniteye
Recorded At Digital Magnetics
Recorded At MGM Music Scoring Stage
Phonographic Copyright (p) Universal Studios
Copyright (c) Universal City Studios, Inc