1991 The Manhattan Transfer – The Offbeat Of Avenues

The Offbeat Of Avenues is the thirteenth album released by The Manhattan Transfer on August 13, 1991 by Columbia Records.

This album is the first of two albums for Columbia Records. This album is also the first Manhattan Transfer album where the majority of the songs were either written or co-written by the members of the group. This album yielded the group a Grammy Award, in the category of Best Contemporary Jazz Performance for the song “Sassy”. The lyrics for this song were written by Janis Siegel and Cheryl Bentyne; the music was composed by Janis Siegel and Bill Bodine.


1  The Offbeat Of Avenues (Ian Prince; Cheryl Bentyne; Don Freeman) 04:52
2  Sassy (Bill Bodine; Janis Siegel; Cheryl Bentyne) 04:50
3  10 Minutes Till the Savages Come (Janis Siegel; Jeff Lorber; Brock Walsh) 03:59
4  What Goes Around Comes Around (Alan Paul; Les Pierce) 04:51
5  Blue Serenade (Tim Hauser; Van Dyke Parks) 03:40
6  Gentleman With A Family (Cheryl Bentyne; Gerald O’Brien; Marc Jordan) 04:51
7  Women In Love (Don Freeman; David Batteau) 06:19
8  A World Apart (David Pack; Janis Siegel; Michael McDonald) 05:01
9  Confide In Me (Donald Fagen) 04:11
10  The Quietude (Encuentro De Animales) (Chuck Jonkey; Alan Paul) 06:13
11  Blues For Pablo (Gil Evans; Jon Hendricks) 06:53


VocalsAlan Paul
VocalsCheryl Bentyne
VocalsJanis Siegel
VocalsTim Hauser

Other Musicians

1 The Offbeat Of Avenues

GuitarJamie Glaser
KeyboardsIan Prince
ProgrammingIan Prince
SaxRichard Elliot

2 Sassy

BassBill Bodine
Bass (slap)Alec Milstein
DrumsJR Robinson
Drums (programming)Jeff Lorber
SynthesizerBill Bodine
SynthesizerJeff Lorber
SynthesizerJohn Beasley
ProgrammingBill Bodine
SaxBob Sheppard
SaxPete Christlieb
TrumpetLew Soloff
TrumpetGary Grant
TrumpetJerry Hey

3 10 Minutes Till the Savages Come

DrumsGrady Tate
SynthesizerJeff Lorber
ProgrammingJeff Lorber

4 What Goes Around Comes Around

SynthesizerLes Pierce
ProgrammingLes Pierce

5 Blue Serenade

SynthesizerIan Prince
ProgrammingIan Prince
BrassCharles Joseph
BrassEfrem Towns
BrassGregory Davis
BrassKevin Harris
BrassKirk Joseph
BrassRoger Lewis
TubaKirk Joseph
PercussionTim Hauser

6 Gentleman With A Family

DrumsJR Robinson
Acoustic GuitarHerb Pedersen
SynthesizerGerald O’Brien
ProgrammingGerald O’Brien

7 Women In Love

Drums (programming)Bobby Z
SynthesizerDon Freeman
ProgrammingDon Freeman
Background VocalsJanis Siegel
Background VocalsLes Pierce

8 A World Apart

PianoYaron Gershovsky
SynthesizerLes Pierce
ProgrammingLes Pierce

9 Confide In Me

BassLeland Sklar
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
GuitarJamie Glaser
OrganMike Finnigan
ProgrammingLarry Williams
ProgrammingErik Hanson
SaxLarry Williams
SaxPete Christlieb
TrumpetGary Grant
TrumpetJerry Hey

10 The Quietude (Encuentro De Animales)

BassAlex Blake
SitarChuck Jonkey
SynthesizerChuck Jonkey
ProgrammingChuck Jonkey
PanpipesHector Vargas
PercussionChuck Jonkey
PercussionFrank Colon

11 Blues For Pablo

BassHarvie Swartz
DrumsConnie Kay
SynthesizerMark Isham
ProgrammingMark Isham
TrumpetMark Isham

Liner Notes

Producer – Tim Hauser
Producer – Ian Prince (Tracks 1, 5)
Producer – Jeff Lorber (Track 3)
Producer – Les Pierce (Tracks 4, 8)
Producer – Don Freeman (Track 7)
Producer (Additional) – Gerald O’Brien (Track 6)
Producer (Executive)– John Cutcliffe
Adapted By (Vocal) – Janis Siegel (Track 11)
Arranged By – Ian Prince (Tracks 1, 5)
Arranged By – Bill Bodine (Track 2)
Arranged By – Jeff Lorber (Track 3)
Arranged By – Les Pierce (Tracks 4, 8)
Arranged By – Gerald O’Brien (Track 6)
Arranged By – Don Freeman (Track 7)
Arranged By – Larry Williams (Track 9)
Arranged By – Alan Paul, Chuck Jonkey (Track 10)
Arranged By – Mark Isham (Track 11)
Arranged By (Horn) – Jerry Hey (Track 2)
Arranged By (Horn) – Gregory Davis (Track 5)
Arranged By (Horn) – Larry Williams (Track 9)
Arranged By (Vocal) – Cheryl Bentyne (Tracks 1, 6)
Arranged By (Vocal) – Ian Prince (Track 1)
Arranged By (Vocal) – Janis Siegel (Tracks 2, 3, 7, 8)
Arranged By (Vocal) – ALes Pierce (Tracks 4, 7)
Arranged By (Vocal) – Alan Paul (Tracks 4, 10)
Arranged By (Vocal) – Van Dyke Parks (Track 5)
Arranged By (Vocal) – David Pack (Track 8)
Arranged By (Vocal) – Mervyn Warren (Track 9)
Engineer – Gary Lux
Engineer (Additional) – Elliott Peters, Stephen Krause, Steven Miller, Ted Blaisdell
Engineer (Assistant) – Ken Felton
Engineer (Second) – Leslie Ann Jones, Marnie Riley
Mastered By – Bernie Grundman
Mixed By – Gary Lux

Art Direction – Nancy Donald
Photography By – D. Gorton

Mastered At Bernie Grundman Mastering
Mixed At Capitol Studios
Mixed At Conway Studios
Recorded At Conway Studios
Recorded At Devonshire Studios
Recorded At –Paisley Park Studios
Recorded At RPM Studios
Recorded At Studio 55, Los Angeles
Phonographic Copyright (p) Sony Music Entertainment Inc
Copyright (c) Sony Music Entertainment Inc