1980 Soundtrack – Coast To Coast

Coast To Coast is a 1980 American romantic comedy film starring Dyan Cannon and Robert Blake, directed by Joseph Sargent. The screenplay was written by Stanley Weiser. The original score was composed by Charles Bernstein. The film was shot in Stockton, California. It was Blake’s first film in six years and first since his popular TV series, Baretta left the airwaves.


1  Pickin’ Up Strangers (Byron Hill) 02:23
2  Fool That I Am (Bruce Roberts; Carole Bayer Sager) 03:10
3  Feels So Good To Win (Graeme Jeremy Kronsberg; Joe Puerta) 02:13
4  Send Me Somebody To Love (Tim Krekel) 03:26
5  Swayin’ To The Music (Slow Dancin’) (Jack Tempchin) 04:01
6  I Can Tell By The Way You Dance (Sandy Pinkard; Robb Strandlund) 02:41
7  Once In A Lifetime (Eric Kaz; Marcia Zwilling) 04:00
8  You’re Only Lonely (John David Souther) 03:48
9  Survive (Jimmy Buffett; Mike Utley) 04:50
10  Coast To Coast (Johnny Wilson; Woody Bomar) 02:16


1 Pickin’ Up Strangers

BassBryan Garofalo
DrumsMike Botts
GuitarFred Tackett
GuitarJames Burton
GuitarJohn Hug
Steel GuitarSonny Garrish
KeyboardsJohn Hobbs
Background VocalsDenny Brooks
Background VocalsLinda Dillard
Background VocalsHerb Pedersen
VocalsJohnny Lee

2 Fool That I Am

BassDennis Belfield
DrumsMike Baird
GuitarDean Parks
GuitarMichael Sembello
KeyboardsMike Utley
VocalsRita Coolidge

3 Feels So Good To Win

BassJoe Puerta
DrumsBurleigh Drummond
Acoustic GuitarDavid Pack
Acoustic GuitarJoe Puerta
Steel GuitarJay Dee Maness
HarmonicaCliff Woolley
VocalsJoe Puerta

4 Send Me Somebody To Love

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsMike Baird
GuitarHadley Hockensmith
Steel GuitarDoug Livingston
OrganCharles Creath
KeyboardsMichael McDonald
PianoPatrick Henderson
Background VocalsAmy Holland
Background VocalsGrady Walker
Background VocalsMichael McDonald
VocalsKathy Walker

5 Swayin’ To The Music (Slow Dancin’)

BassMarc Levine
DrumsJim Keltner
GuitarDean Parks
KeyboardsHarlan Rogers
Background VocalsBarry Bookin
Background VocalsJim Haas
Background VocalsJohn Douglas
VocalsJohnny Rivers

6 I Can Tell By The Way You Dance

BassMichael Rhodes
DrumsMike Botts
GuitarJohn Hug
GuitarPaul Worley
KeyboardsJohn Hobbs
Background VocalsDennis Wilson
Background VocalsRobb Strandlund
VocalsJohnny Lee

7 Once In A Lifetime

BassPeter Freiberger
DrumsClaude Pepper
GuitarJohnny Lee Schell
PianoEric Kaz
PercussionRob Fraboni
Background VocalsJohnny Lee Schell
Background VocalsJennifer Warnes
VocalsBonnie Raitt

8 You’re Only Lonely

GuitarKenny Edwards
DrumsRick Marotta
GuitarWaddy Wachtel
GuitarJohn David Souther
PianoDon Grolnick
VocalsJohn David Souther

9 Survive

BassHarry Dailey
DrumsRuss Kunkel
GuitarBarry Chance
KeyboardsAndy McMahon
PianoMike Utley
HarmonicaGreg Taylor
Background VocalsAlex Taylor
Background VocalsBrenda Bryant
Background VocalsDeborah McColl
Background VocalsHugh Taylor
Background VocalsJames Taylor
Background VocalsPaulette Brown
Background VocalsVenetta Fields
VocalsJimmy Buffett

10 Coast To Coast

BassJoe Osborn
DrumsEddie Bayers
GuitarPaul Worley
GuitarRafe van Hoy
BanjoMark Casstevens
KeyboardsDennis Burnside
HarmonicaTerry McMillan
Background VocalsAlan Moore
Background VocalsDiane Tidwell
Background VocalsSheri Kramer
Background VocalsTom Brannon
VocalsTG Sheppard

Liner Notes

Producer – Jim Ed Norman (Tracks 1, 6, 10)
Producer – David Anderle (Track 2)
Producer – Ambrosia (Track 3)
Producer – Michael McDonald, Patrick Henderson (Track 4)
Producer – Johnny Rivers (Track 5)
Producer – Rob Fraboni, Tim Kramer (Track 7)
Producer – John David Souther (Track 8)
Producer – Norbert Putnam, David Briggs (Track 9)
Co-producer – Nina Avramides, Pam Byers, Shirley Klein
Arranged By – Ambrosia (Track 3)
Arranged By (Strings) – Bergen White (Track 1)
Arranged By (Strings) – Mike Utley (Track 2)
Arranged By (Strings) – Dean Parks (Track 5)
Arranged By (Strings) – Matthew McCauley (Track 7)
Arranged By (Strings) – Norbert Putnam (Track 9)
Mastered By – John Golden, John Hug
Mixed By – Eric Prestidge (Tracks 1, 6)
Mixed By – Peggy McCreary (Track 2)
Mixed By – Win Kutz (Track 3)
Mixed By – Al Schmitt (Track 4)
Mixed By – Tim Kramer (Track 7)
Mixed By – Lee Herschberg (Track 8)
Mixed By – Marshall Morgan (Track 10)
Recorded By – Eric Prestidge (Tracks 1, 6)
Recorded By – Peggy McCreary (Track 2)
Recorded By – Stewart Whitmore (Track 3)
Recorded By – Bill Bottrell (Track 4)
Recorded By – Lee Herschberg (Track 8)
Recorded By – Marshall Morgan (Track 10)
Concertmaster – Sidney Sharp (Tracks 5, 7)
Conductor – Bergen White (Track 1)
Conductor – Jules Chaikin (Track 2
Conductor – Matthew McCauley (Track 7)

Mastered At Kendun Recorders
Recorded At Warner Bros Recording Studios
Recorded At Air Lyndhurst Studios
Phonographic Copyright Warner Bros. Records Inc
Phonographic Copyright Soul City Records
Phonographic Copyright MCA Records, Inc
Phonographic Copyright CBS Inc
Copyright Warner Bros Records Inc