2014 Neil Diamond – Melody Road

Melody Road is Neil Diamond‘s debut album as an artist signed to Capitol Records. His 32nd studio album, it was the first album of original music Diamond has recorded since 2008’s well-received Home Before Dark, which debuted on the US album charts at #1. It was produced by Don Was and Jacknife Lee.

After 40 years recording for Columbia, Diamond signed with Capitol in early 2014. At the same time, his back catalogue was moved to Universal Music Group, Capitol’s parent company. Capitol released Diamond’s 1980 soundtrack album for The Jazz Singer.

On September 8, 2014, six of the tracks from Melody Road were premiered at the Capitol Records studios in Hollywood, CA at a listening party for a small group of music industry executives and journalists. Following the event, Billboard wrote that the album is “rich in orchestration that retains the dark rustic qualities of his last two studio albums of original material, 12 Songs and Home Before Dark. Of the songs, the article stated that “‘Something Blue’, the most commercial of the songs played Monday, has the classic Diamond mid-tempo lilt; the ballads ‘The Art of Love’ and ‘(Ooo) Do I Wanna Be Yours’ offer springboards for Diamond’s still-potent voice; and ‘Seongah and Jimmy’ is an eyewitness account of a romance between a woman from Korea and a man from Long Island.” The Wall Street Journal wrote that “The Art of Love” is a “tender offering from Diamond, who at age 73, hasn’t lost that ability to convey a wide swath of emotions in just four minutes.”


1  Melody Road (Neil Diamond ) 03:12
2  First Time (Neil Diamond ) 04:02
3  Seongah and Jimmy (Neil Diamond ) 05:44
4  Something Blue (Neil Diamond ) 04:03
5  Nothing But a Heartache (Neil Diamond ) 04:33
6  In Better Days (Neil Diamond ) 03:30
7  (OOO) Do I Wanna Be Yours (Neil Diamond ) 06:14
8  Alone At the Ball (Neil Diamond ) 02:56
9  Sunny Disposition (Neil Diamond ) 03:14
10  Marry Me Now (Neil Diamond ) 03:35
11  The Art of Love (Neil Diamond ) 04:07
12  Melody Road (Reprise) (Neil Diamond ) 01:12
13  Remember [Bonus track] (Harry Nilsson) 03:31
14  Something [Bonus track] (George Harrison) 04:10


BassHutch Hutchinson
BassSebastian Steinberg
DrumsJeremy Stacey
DrumsJoey Waronker
GuitarTim Pierce
GuitarMark Goldenberg
GuitarJoey Waronker
GuitarBlake Mills
GuitarGreg Leisz
GuitarHadley Hockensmith
GuitarJacknife Lee
GuitarNeil Diamond
GuitarRichard Bennett
GuitarSmokey Hormel
KeyboardsBenmont Tench
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
KeyboardsCJ Vanston
KeyboardsJim Cox
KeyboardsMatt Rollings
KeyboardsRami Jaffee
KeyboardsDon Was
KeyboardsJacknife Lee
FluteDon Markese
FluteSara Andon
HornsDan Weinstein
HornsEric Gorfain
HornsJamelle Williams
HornsJohn Fumo
HornsJustin Hageman
HornsMarc Bolin
HornsMike Cottone
HornsStephanie O’Keefe
PercussionAlan Estes
PercussionJoey Waronker
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters
Background VocalsOren Waters
VocalsNeil Diamond

Liner Notes

Producer – Don Was, Jacknife Lee
Arranged By (Horns) – Eric Gorfain (tracks: 3, 4, 10)
Arranged By (Strings) – Alan Lindgren
Concertmaster – Assa Drori
Conductor – Alan Lindgren
Mastered By, – Bernie Becker
Mastered By (Assistant) – Dale Becker
Mixed By – Bob Clearmountain
Mixed By (Assistant) – Sergio Ruelas
Recorded By – Tom McFall
Recorded By (Assistant) – Kyle Stevens, Matt Bishop, Pablo Hernandez
Recorded By (Strings, Vocals) – Bernie Becker

Art Direction – Todd Gallopo
Design – Leslie Kim, Todd Gallopo
Photography By – Ari Michelson, Micah Diamond, Jesse Diamond, Todd Gallopo

Mastered At Bernie Becker Mastering
Mixed At Mix This!
Recorded At Henson Recording Studios
Recorded At Arch Angel Studios
Phonographic Copyright (p) Neil Diamond
Copyright (c) Neil Diamond